Zammit, Aquilina and Buttigieg dominate the third Autocross event

Wednesday, January 16, 2019, 7:55

Last Sunday ASMK held its third event of the 2018/2019 National Autocross Championship sponsored by Pasta Poiatti. This Autocross event was held at the ASMK Sports Complex in Ta’ Qali and began at 10 am. The 15 competitors were divided into the Modified and Standard Classes.

In the Modified Class Joseph Micallef on his Opel Corsa dominated the Heats and won two from the three Heats available and so he assured his place in the Class A Final. Melo Zammit and Terence Azzopardi both on Opel Corsa cars, Ryan Scicluna on the Ford Fiesta and Noel Zammit on his Fiat Punto also qualified for this class.

From the Start of this final, Noel Zammit made a very good launch ahead of Micallef and Scicluna, but during the second lap, Melo Zammit made use of the Joker Lap and took the lead. Everybody was wondering what was going to happen if Micallef and Azzopardi took the Joker Lap. The challenge continued between all the competitors, doing their best during this hot Final Race. Towards the end of this race, Azzopardi took the Joker Lap followed by Noel Zammit and both drivers gained one placing each. Besides that Melo Zammit won this Final Race while his Opel Corsa engine switched itself off due to engine damaged only a few meters away from the Finish Flag. Melo Zammit was followed by Terence Azzopardi, Noel Zammit, Joseph Micallef and Ryan Scicluna.

Class B was made of: Ivan Birmingham on his Suzuki Swift, Joseph Spiteri on his Opel Corsa, Richard Spiteri on Opel Nova, Nicolai Aquilina on an Opel Corsa and Theo Micallef on Ford Fiesta.

Micallef made a good start and took the lead of the race followed by Nicolai Aquilina and Joseph Spiteri. In the first round Micallef and Joseph Spiteri were the first drivers who took advantage of this Joker Lap to further increase the gap to the other competitors. During the fourth lap, Birmingham made use of the Joker Lap and finished ahead of Joseph Spiteri. During the fifth lap leader Micallef’s engine developed a fault in the cooling system and had to withdraw from the race. Thus Aquilina who was competing for the first time, took the lead and won the race. Ivan Birmingham won the 2nd place and Joseph Spiteri finished in 3rd place, followed by Richard Spiteri and Micallef.

The Standard Start Line was composed by Jerom Peplow on his Kia Avella, Nicovich Chircop on a Peugeot 106, Melvin Buttigieg on Citroen AX, Kyle Agius on his Opel Nova and Quinn Camilleri on a new Citroen Saxo. Chricop had a fast launch along side with Agius but Chricop took the lead after the first right turn while being followed by Agius and Buttigieg. Shortly after the first corner, Agius made a slight contact with the rear of Chricop’s car and this resulted in the latter over-turning off-track his Peugeot. This move led the referee to suspend Agius from the race. Following this accident Buttigieg took the lead ahead of Camilleri and Peplow. Following this accident there were no changes in the drivers placings so Buttigieg won the race ahead of Camilleri, Peplow and Chircop.

In the meantime, next Sunday 20th January 2019 Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi (ASMK) will be organizing the second meeting of the WotoMoto 2018/2019 National Enduro Championship. This event will be held at Fawwara quarry, starting at 10 am.

ASMK also would like to inform interested parties, that there are ongoing preparations for a Ladies Drivers Only Demolition Derby. Prospective women drivers are invited to attend a meeting which is going to be held on Thursday 24th January 2019 at the National Sports School in Pembroke and starts at 8 pm.

More information can be found on or Facebook pages named A.S.M.K. Malta or Assoċjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can also make contact by email and/or Mobile No. 99425489.

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment