Waterpolo: Matthew Zammit and Sean Xerri de Caro win Players of the Year

Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 22:47

BOV Water Polo Players of the Year

Matthew Zammit wins Premier Division Award

Sean Xerri de Caro lands First Division Award


San Giljan Captain Matthew Zammit is the BOV Water Polo Premier Division Player of the Year. The left-hander or ix-Xellugi as he is known had a memorable year on the international field being voted the most valuable player in the EU Nations Cup played in Limerick, Ireland and also in the Commonwealth Water Polo Championships. Most recently he was also named tournament MVP in the Malta International Water Polo Cup, a tournament also won by Malta.

Nineteen year old Sean Xerri De Caro, who was on a ‘shared athlete’ loan from Neptunes to Marsaxlokk, has this year been named as the BOV Waterpolo First Division Player of the Year. Sean kept his hot streak throughout the season where he also played in the Neptunes U20 team.

Anthony Scicluna, Chief Officer at Bank of Valletta presented the BOV Water Polo Player of the Year for the respective divisions to Zammit and Xerri de Caro at the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta AGM in the presence of ASA President Joe Caruan Curran.

Leave a comment