Vileda open water swimming championships 2013

Thursday, June 20, 2013, 16:49

The 2013 Open Water Swimming Championships organised by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club and sponsored by Vileda, opened with a difficult race due to the prevailing  weather conditions. The race was held in the sheltered Salina Bay with 92 swimmers setting off on two one-kilometre laps. Neil Agius and Michelle Vella Wood convincingly won their respective categories. Agius finished the race in 27 minutes, 27 seconds ahead of Roberto Demicoli (29:31) and Graham Borg (29:38). In the females’ category, Vella Wood was unchallenged to finish in a time of 33 minutes, 46 seconds. However the three swimmers in her wake were logged in a sprint finish, with Maria Camilleri hitting the finishing buoy in 35 minutes, 1 second, ahead of Margaret Seguna (35:02).

The second race in these Vileda championships, organised under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta, will be held on Wednesday, 19 June 2013 at 18:30 hrs.

Leave a comment