Marsaxlokk hold Valletta to a goal less draw

Saturday, January 22, 2011, 17:01

by Joshua Cacciattolo

League leaders Valletta was held in goal less draw against Marsaxlokk. Valletta opened a 13 points ahead Tarxien Rainbows and Floriana, who will play against Sliema and Qormi respectively.

 Valletta coach Jesmond Zerafa opted again for a 4-4-1-1 formation. The in form Brazilian Denni Dos Santos started behind striker Terence Scerri, and Edmund Agius replaced Captain Gilbert Agius since last week’s victory against  Tarxien Rainbows.

Marsaxlokk coach Patrick Curmi started with a 4-1-4-1 formation. Wingers Trevor Templeman and Martin Deanov supported lone striker Alfred Effiong.

Top scorer Terence Scerri always scored in his last 5 games.

Valletta president Victor Scriha was Marsaxlokk president till the end of the 2006/2007 season, the year that the Southsiders won their only Premier League championship.

Rumen Galabov, Kevin Sammut and Jamie Pace played for both teams in their career.

In today’s first match Birkirkara return to winning ways after beaten Hamrun Spartans 2-0 thanks to Emiliano Lattes and Paul Fenech second half goals.

Final Score: Valletta 0-0 Marsaxlokk

First Half

30min: Terence Scerri’s half volley was saved by Ruben Gauci from Kevin Sammut cross.

33min: Florent Raimy shot was off target by inches.

41min: Martin Deanov free kick was off target.

43min: Kevin Sammut missed a glorious chance to open the score when he missed the target in front goalkeeper Ruben Gauci from Terence Scerri cross.

Second Half

73min: Denni Dos Santos free kick was saved by Ruben Gauci in two attempts.

82min: Denni Dos Santos low shot was cleared off the line by Andrew Spiteri and then a Steve Borg cross was meet again by Denni Dos Santos and again was cleared by Reuben Gauci

87min: Ian Zammit header was off target.

90min: Ryan Darmanin hits the woodwark.

Valletta:A.Hogg, R.Briffa, S.Borg, J.Caruana, I.Azzopardi, E.Agius, J.Pace(R.D.Santos 73min), K.Sammut(I.Zammit 84min), O.Temile (D.Falzon 74min) D.D.Santos, T.Scerri

Marsaxlokk: R.Gauci, M.Licari,E.Yancev, R.Galabov, A.Spiteri, F.Raimy,G.Sciberras,P.Pullicino,T.Tempelman(G.Caruana 70min),M.Deanov, A.Effiong(R.Darmanin 88min)

Referee: Clayton Pisani

Yellow Cards: O.Temile (V) T.Tempelman, M.Deanov, F.Raimy, R.Galabov (M)

Bov Man of the Match: Roderick Briffa

Attendance: 2225

1 Comment

  1. Massimo says:

    il Professionals ta Malta vs ta Lampuki 0-0 hehehe


Leave a comment