Mapei win all men’s honours for second year running

Tuesday, May 4, 2010, 18:03

Valletta Volleyball Club have once again confirmed their dominance in the men’s volleyball sector when they took home the national league title for the second year running. The Club has also won the other major honour, the Fr. Tony Parnis National Cup while also having eight of their players selected to form the backbone of the national team.

Valletta Volleyball Club - League Champions 2009-10

In their final game this season, Valletta beat Sliema with an impressive 3-0 (25-11, 25-15, 25-18) scoreline, in a game that was a reflection of Valletta’s consistent strength throughout the season and which left them at the top of the table, 13 points ahead of the same Sliema. In fact the Citizens have left little space for their opponents all year round, winning all their games and dropping only 5 sets, a feat that will be hard to match. This was mainly due to the efforts made by the committee to provide the best possible conditions for the team and the players who showed an all round dedication during training sessions and matches.

“This was a very important year for Valletta because we have strengthened our position in local volleyball and did our best to keep the players motivated” said Owen Spiteri, Valletta’s club delegate. “In fact we have won all the honours just as we did last year, kitted the team with high quality apparel and also organised a fantastic 5-day training camp to Milan last March which proved to be the highlight of our season”, added Mr. Spiteri.

Valletta Volleyball Club is supported by the Valletta Local Council that sees this sporting venture as the perfect showcase for the capital City. “We want to congratulate our volleyball team for all their efforts to bring home all the titles this year and keep Valletta’s name at the very top for the second time running. These players and the committee provide an exceptional showcase for our city both locally and overseas as was the case in their Milan training camp, and we will continue to back them in their future volleyball endeavours” said Dr. Alexei Dingli, Valletta’s Mayor following the team’s last game.

Valletta’s winning team was made up of:
Robert Balzan
Cedric Bondin
Dalton Caruana
Jonathan Chetcuti
Anatoly Gatt
Par Hoglund
Karl Meilaq Brunetti
Keith Mifsud
Vince Pace
Josef Pirotta
Stephen Riolo
Anatole Scerri Diacono
Owen Spiteri
Paul Tonna

This season’s successes were also made possible with the support of Airmalta, Sportika sports apparel, Powerade and the Valletta Local Council.

Leave a comment