- Sport In Malta - http://www.sportinmalta.com -

Unbeaten Valletta win their 20th Premier League title

Posted By SportInMalta On May 7, 2011 @ 7:16 pm In Featured,Football | 2 Comments

Valletta FC are the new Premier League champions when they drew 2-2 against Tarxien Rainbows.

Valletta forged ahead in the 14th minute from a Terence Scerri penalty who extended his lead at the top of the scorers table. Valletta captain Gilbert Agius was substituted in the 20th minute due to injury, with Ryan Fenech taking his place. A few minutes later, Hogg saved a strong header by Cristiano, but it was just before half time that Tarxien drew the game with a fine Ricardo Costa header from a Julian Vella cross.

The Citizens were not satisfied and a minute later Edmond Agius made it 2-1 from a Kevin Sammut assist.

After the break, Tarxien stunned Valletta when after a couple of minutes Daniel Mariano Bueno leveled the game with another header. With possession being held mostly in midfield, Valletta went close again to leading the game when Ryan Fenech’s long range drive hit the post and Cassar saved point blank on Sammut.

At the end of the game Valletta’s party began,with over 5,000 supporters present, cheering captain Gilbert Agius as he raised the cup for the 20th time in Valletta’s history. Carcades flowed into the Capital with thousands of the City faithful expected to party till the early hours of tomorrow.

Article printed from Sport In Malta: http://www.sportinmalta.com

URL to article: http://www.sportinmalta.com/unbeaten-valletta-win-their-20th-premier-league-title/

Copyright © 2010 Sport In Malta. All rights reserved.