Triathlon Malta becomes a Federation‏

Tuesday, January 1, 2013, 19:18

During the recently held Annual General Meeting, members of Malta Triathlon agreed that the national organisation shall henceforth be  known as the Malta Triathlon Federation thus bringing it n line with the majority of other Federations across theEuropean and the  International Triathlon Unions.

“The Malta Triathlon Federation is the official national governing body for the multi discipline sports, covering Triathlon, Duathlon and Aquathlons” explained Cyprian Dalli, President of the Malta Triathlon Federation. This is not only a cosmetic change but one in line with our vision to be pro-active and in line with our fellow counterparts abroad. We believe that this sport’s future is a strong and we, as a Federation, aare striving to ensure the best future possible for our athletes and our sport.

The Malta Triathlon Federation has closed off a successful year which has seen the number of triathletes participating in local and international races increase substantially.  National Team Performances have seen excellent results, especially by Keith Galea and Danica Bonello Spiteri who competed in the  European Triathlon Union’s Championships in Israel, with Keith finishing first in his age group and Danica finishing third in her age group.  These results were further mirrored in performances in Cyprus and Madrid.  In long distance Triathlon Michelle Vella Wood broke the current Maltese Female Ironman record this summer by clocking 10hr 53 minutes in Kalmar Sweden this summer, and improved her previous Ironman time by over an hour and a half. Dermot Galea also broke the National Record for the IM 70.3 Distance in his race at Antwerp Belgium. Team Malta also produced a strong performance in the Triathlon championship for the small states of Europe which were held in Luxembourg.

Maltese triathletes were also recently recognised with various awards by the Malta Olympic Committee, most notably being Nicky Farrugia, who was inducted in the Malta Olympic Committee’s Hall of Fame.



Leave a comment