The National Drag Racing Championship initiated

Wednesday, March 20, 2019, 11:01

The Malta Drag Racing Association, last weekend held the first round of the National Drag Racing Championship at their raceway in Hal Far. The Championship started with great enthusiasm and roughly one hundred cars signed up to compete. Although the Round was very well organized most competitors suffered engine damages or needed more time tune up the new setups they prepared for this season.

The Bracket Classes were won by Mario Camenzuli, Steve Bugeja, Michael Caruana, Chantelle Zammit, Jurgen Debono, Glen Caruana, Reuben Pirotta, Clint Fenech Paul Fenech.

The Index classes have been won by Aaron Farrugia, Clinton Degiorgio, Terry Gilam, and Lesley Portelli. Motorcycles Bracket Classes have been won by Lesley Said and Franklyn Borg, Chris Vella won the Index class and Shawn Buttigieg won the Motorcycles open class.

Paul Fenech won Open Class 1 and John Martin won both Open Class 2 and Class 2 Extreme.

Front Wheel Drive Open Class was won by Marvic Galea. CA6 class was won by Anthony Vella, Emmanuel Vassallo won the DTA5 class.

Classes PS4 and SM3 have been won by Clint Caruana and Glenn Fenech respectively. D4, D5 and D6 have been won by Miguel Montebello, Emmanuel Galea and Mario Borg, while Alan Muscat won the DTF Class.

Christian Pace wins Escort Class 2 and Escort Class 3, Mario Borg wins the Open Class 6 and Reuben Pirotta win the SM4 Class.

The youngest winner of the day was Xavier Camilleri by winning the Junior Dragster Class and the best reaction on the light was that of Shawn Buttigieg.

At the start of this round, the Malta Drag Racing Association announced that it signed a new sponsorship agreement for the next three years with Enemed. The second round of the National Drag Racing Championship is going to be held on the 3rd, 4th and 5th of May.

Leave a comment