- Sport In Malta - http://www.sportinmalta.com -

Sport Malta Awards – Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali 2017 semi-finalists announced

Posted By Sportinmalta On January 17, 2018 @ 10:40 am In Featured,GhGS - 2014 | No Comments

Following nominations by Maltese sports associations and federations, the semi-finalists for the Sport Malta Awards – Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali 2017 were announced on Monday. Sports journalists can now vote for their preferences till Tuesday 23 January, with the awards to be announced during this year’s edition of Sport Malta Awards – Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali 2017.

In the Sports Man of the Year category, the semi-finalists are John Agius (Darts), Noel Baldacchino (Horce Racing), Graham Borg (Triathlon), Gianluca Chetcuti (Shooting), Aaron Ciantar (Powerboats), Anton Cuschieri (Pool), Gary Giordmaina (Lotta), Duncan Micallef (Drag Racing), Andre Schembri (Football) and Mark Spiteri (Ten Pin Bowling).

The Sports Woman of the Year will be chosen from Sue Abela (Ten Pin Bowling), Marie Claire Aqulina (Cycling), Eleonor Bezzina (Shooting), Rachel Cuschieri (Football), Elaine Genovese (Tennis), Christina Grima (Basketball), Monika Lazarova (Gymnastics), Hannah Pace (Triathlon), Charlotte Wingfield (Athletics) and Yasmin Zammit Stevens (Weightlifting).

The semi-finalists in the Official of the Year Category are Joe Bajada (Cyclng),Francesca Borg (Gymnastics), Terry Camilleri (Snooker), Jesmond Caruana (Weightlifting),  Cyprian Dalli (Triathlon), William England (Motorsport), Saviour Portelli (Shooting), Paul Sultana (Basketball), Bernard Vassallo (Basketball) and Andre Zammit (Darts).

The last ten in the Coach of the Year ward list are Angela Adamoli (Basketball), Jimmy Bugeja (Shooting), Carmel Cilia (Pool), Stephen Cutajar (8 Ball), Jesmond Giordmaina (Lotta), Artem Goncharenko (Swimming), Johanna Grech (Table Tennis), Noel Mercieca (Kick Boxing), Damian Neill (Rugby) and Rick Vogelesang (Ten Pin Bowling).

The Young Sports Man of the Year will be chosen from among Jurgen Balzan (Table Football), Samuel Borg (Canoe), Sam Cassar (Badminton), Jacob Elaida (Athletics), Omar Elaida (Athletics), Miguel Galea (Tennis), Hacob Sciberras (Swimming), Kijan Sultana (Squash), Thomas G Woods Jr (Triathlon) and Edward Xuereb (Ten Pin Bowling).

The semi-finalists in the Young Sports Womnan of the Year are Ella Borg (Gymnastics), Francesca Curmi (Tennis), Anthea Cutajar (Table Tennis), Michaela Ellul (Badminton), Francesca Falzon Young (Swimming), Shelby Mangion Vassallo (Weitghtlifting), Kendra Navarro (Waterpolo), Helene Pellicano (Tennis), Carla Scicluna (Athletics) and Sara Xuereb (Ten Pin Bowling).

The final ten candidates for the Team of the Year Award are  National Team ‘A’ Women 4 X 100 m (Athletics),  National Team Women ‘A’ (Basketball), IFBB Malta : Decelis – Coppola (Bodybuilding), Giordmaina Racing Team (Motor Bikes – Drag Racing), 8 ball National Team U / 23 (Pool), National Team U / 19 (Table Football), National Team ‘A’ – Women (Table Tennis), National Team ‘A’ – Mixed (Ten Pin Bowling), Team Kamp. Mediterran (Horse Racing) and San Ġiljan A.S.C. (Waterpolo).

The final awards honouring the various 2017 sports achievements will be announced during an event organised by Malta Sports Journalists Association and Sport Malta on Saturday 17 February 2018.

Article printed from Sport In Malta: http://www.sportinmalta.com

URL to article: http://www.sportinmalta.com/sport-malta-awards-ghazliet-sportivi-nazzjonali-2017-semi-finalists-announced/

Copyright © 2010 Sport In Malta. All rights reserved.