Sliema’s non win run extends

Sunday, December 12, 2010, 16:30

by Sandro Micallef.

With only four points from their last four games Sliema will had to focus on how to regain the confidence in themselves and start winning games. The Blues were coming from a 2-2 draw against current champions Birkirkara but today they welcomed back Clayton Failla who has fully recovered from a groin injury.

Marsaxlokk on the other hand welcomed back in their ranks the likes of Clive Brincat who was recovering from a hamstring injury that left him out from action for the last month or so. Sliema have missing Gatt Baldacchino, John Mintoff and Julian Briffa all suspended. Mark Marlow’s team non win streak is now extended to seven games after another disappointing draw today (1-1)against Marsaxlokk.

First Half:

11min: Martin Deanov is tackled inside the penalty area by Mifsud, Referee Azzopardi close to action and signals no foul play.

14min: Trevor Templeman tries his luck from outside the area with a shot on his right hand side run.

36min: Marsaxlokk 1-0. Cross by Licari partially intercepted by Akpan but Ruben Guerero Gravata nets the ball past Sliema’s Nigerian keeper.

Second Half:

49min: Sliema 1-1. Jackson Lima beats Reuben Gauci after receiving a cross from Failla who came in earlier in the first half replacing Ciantar.

57min: Ini Etim Akpan saves a Kokavessis shot in corner.

89min: Marsaxlokk close to win the game with a Deanov cross shot that passes centimetres away from Akpan’s upright.

90min: Etim Akpan makes a wonderful elastic save on Julio Alcorse’s header.

93min: A no day for Alfred Effiong as he misses an easy header.

Sliema: I.Akpan Etim, J.Mifsud, S.Tidiane Soure, M.Scerri (N.Turner 58min), J.P.Mifsud Triganza, M.Ciantar (C.Failla 38min), S.Bezzina, J.Lima Sequeira, O.Obiefule, R.Bajada, B.Muscat (A.Spiteri 81min).

Marsaxlokk: R.Gauci, C.Mamo, G.Sciberras, M.Deanov, M.Licari, A.Effiong, C.Brincat (E.Yanchev 46min), R.Galabov, T.Templeman, D.Kokavessis (P.Pullicino 60min), R.Guereiro Gravata (J.Alcorse 72min).

Referee: Adrian Azzopardi

Yellow Cards: J.Mifsud, M. Ciantar, C.Failla (S) C.Brincat, P.Pullicino, M.Licari (M)

Scorers: Ruben Guereiro Gravata, Jackson Lima

BOV Player of the Match: Martin Deanov

Leave a comment