Senglea and Cospicua hot favorites to claim Shield

Wednesday, March 31, 2010, 0:31

The 31st edition of the National Traditional Regatta to be held today in the Valletta Harbour will witness passion and tough competition between the two Cottonera Clubs namely Senglea and Cospicua. Both clubs are set to place in the first three positions in the majority of the 5 races planned in the A category formerly known as the Open Category.

Senglea have an array of experienced rowers who will compete and try to fly high the yellow and red colours. The Club which is currently under the Presidency of the only female Club official Charmaine Gerada, has basically kept the same rowers namely – Ryhs Fieni, Lawrence Ciantar, Clayton Darmanin, Donald Gilford who will be in action as a team of 4 in two races – the Tal-Midalji and Tal-Pass b’Erbgħa Imqadef . In the Senglea Kajjik, the unbeatable couple Gilmour Zammit and Donald Gilford will try to extend their wining streak for the 6th consecutive Regatta.

Cospicua also know as Bormla had some last minute changes in their line up as they also had to forfeit to participate in one of the races in the B Category. Their contingent is still very strong and consists of experienced rowers together with young rowers who are planning to upset the Isla neighbours. Bormla’s main boats ie) Tal-Midalji, Ta’ bi Tbejn and Ta’ b’Erbgħa will have Melchior Farrugia, George Frendo, Gordon Dimitri, Ryan Refalo, Clayton Debono, Charlton Abela and Kirsten Mifsud as protagonists.

A good show is also expected by Marsamxett Valletta Regatta Club who also have a competitive crew consisting of the duo John Martin Mifsud and Dennis Thornton who will row in the Ta bi Tnejn.These rowers together with Charles Gauci, Louis Bonello, Marlon Cutajar and Gino Viacava competing in Ta’ b’Erbgħa, Tal-Midalji and Frejgatina respectively can be considered as the underdogs in the A Category of this year’s edition of the Freedom Day Regatta.

The B Category Shield will be contested between Kalkara and Vittoriosa who have opted yet again for another edition to line up their best rowers in the inferior Category. Rowers like Owen Ciantar, Joseph Flask and Lawrence Schembri all of Vittoriosa have been specifically asked by the Birgu Club to compete in this Category.

Full live transmission of the National Traditional Regatta of Freedom Day 2010 will be broadcast on Melita Sports and on the Promotion Channel of Melita plc.

Live updates and results will also be available on this website. Please come back later for all the latest action!

Leave a comment