Second Time Trial win for Bonello

Tuesday, July 16, 2013, 10:28

Etienne Bonello of Team Greens edged closer to retain his time trial title after storming to victory during the second round of the Time Trial National Championship held at Mriehel earlier this month. On an almost windless day the race was run over a distance of 24km covering 8 laps of Mriehel Bypass. It was a much anticipated race after the very close times registered in the first round at Zebbug  Bypass where Bonello just edged Mosta AF Sign Studio Steve Sciberras by a mere 3 seconds. As riders rolled out on the course at one minute intervals all eyes turned on the main contenders as Sciberras, Bonello and Jason Vella (Greens) powered their way on the course. Bonello registered the fastest time of  35:32, while team mate Joseph Bonello  clinched a surprise second place  14 seconds adrift . Sciberras failed to produce a challenging performance as the previous race and had to settle for third place with a deficit of 42 seconds from the winner. Marie Claire Aquilina also of Team Greens prevailed in the ladies category followed by Michelle Vella Wood (B’Kara St Joseph) and Danica Bonello Spiteri (Greens).

Results in the other categories as follows:

Juniors: Reuben Sciberras (Mosta);  

Masters  40+ : Kevin Muscat (Qormi), Mark Schembri (Mosta), Brian Moyer (Mosta);

Masters 50+: Joe Mallia (Qormi) , Emanuel Bezzina (Mosta);

Masters 60+: George Abela (Qormi), Anthony Borg (Qormi), Emanuel Camilleri (Mosta);

U15Boys: Mark Farrugia (Mosta), Sean Galea (Greens), Andrea Lucia (Mosta);

U15Girls: Martina Pizzuto (Mosta), Monica Cutajar (Mosta), Erica Spiteri Bailey (Mosta);

U12 Boys: James Galea (Mosta), Sean Enriques (Mosta), Justin Magri (Agones);

U12 Girls: Danica Galea (Greens), Christine Spiteri (Agones)


The Final round of the Time Trial National Championship will take place this Sunday with the classic season ending hill climb at Mizieb.  Race starts at 7:30am

Leave a comment