Santa Maria Cycling Sprints

Friday, August 24, 2012, 6:00

This unique sporting event is held every year as part of the annual celebrations of the patron saint of Mosta,Santa Maria. The event is organized by the Mosta AF Sign Studio Cycling Club with the much appreciated help of the Mosta ArchPriest Rev. Father Albert Buhagiar, Mr Mario Riolo, the Police Corp and Mr Nazzareno Vassallo of Vassallo Builders Group Ltd (official sponsors of the event).


This year, the Sprints were held on Sunday 12th August alongConstitution Street which was closed to traffic during the races. The temperatures were well into the 30 degree mark at nine o’clock when the first category of cyclists, the Under 12’s, took to the street. This event always draws a good crowd and this year was no different with spectators cheering on the cyclists lining both sides ofConstitution Street.


The sprints for all the different categories were closely contested however the highlight sprint of the day was the Elite category sprint in which in which Mosta AF Sign Studio Cycling Club took the first and second podium places through the young and upcoming Steve Sciberras and veteran cyclist Paul Magri followed by Pierre Borg (Melita Discus C.C.) in third.


After the sprints, a prize award ceremony was held.  The Secretary of the Mosta AF Sign Studio Cycling Club, Mr Frank Dimech, thanked everyone who helped in the organization of the event as well as the participants, supporters, spectators, Police Corps and the event sponsor, Vassallo Group of Builders. Mosta Parish ArchPriest Rev. Father Albert Buhagiar blessed the participants and their bicycles whilst wishing them future success and safe cycling. Mr Nazzareno Vassallo, on behalf of Vassallo Builders Group Ltd, stated that he was proud that this was the 30th consecutive year that Vassallo Builders Group Ltd had sponsored this unique event and pledged to sponsor future editions.  Mr Vassallo presented medals to all the participants and trophies to the podium finishers of each category.





1st Steve Sciberras (Mosta C.C.), 2nd Paul Magri (Mosta C.C.), 3rd Pierre Borg (Melita C.C.)



1st Carl Xuereb (Mosta C.C.)



1st Ruth Mamo (Mosta C.C.), 2nd Becky Saliba (Mosta C.C.)


Masters 40+:

1st Michael Lia (Mosta C.C.), Daniel Thornley (Mosta C.C.), 3rd Louis Xuereb (Mosta C.C.)


Master 50+

1st Charles Zammit (Mosta C.C.)


Masters 60+

1st Emmanuel Camilleri (Mosta  C.C.), 2nd Edwin Spiteri (Mosta C.C.)


Under 15 Girls:

1st Celine Fenech (Mosta C.C.)


Under 15 Boys:

1st Kurt Muscat (Mosta C.C.), 2nd Andrea Lucia (Mosta C.C.), 3rd Ian Zammit (Mosta C.C.)


Under 12 Girls:

1st Celine Fenech (Mosta C.C.)


Under 12 Boys:

1st Michelle Lucia (Mosta C.C.), 2nd Issac Spiteri (Melita Discus C.C.), 3rd Michael Sant (Mosta C.C.)



Leave a comment