Russia Keeps The Euromed Overall Trophy

Friday, December 24, 2010, 12:49

By Wilfred Sultana

13 year-old Pavel Rasskazov (RUS 24) was on Tuesday night declared overall winner of the 11th Euromed Malta Championship following an inspiring display in a record-entry event. Last year the esteemed overall trophy was also won by a Russian sailor, eleven-year-old Nikita Ushkov, the youngest ever of all Euromed overall winners.

Rasskazov, a member of the Sailing Club Paruskin of St. Petersburg, registered a 1st in three races, a 2nd and a 5th placing to clinch a deserving Champion’s place in a 96 record-entry Optimist Class Championship.

For Pavel Rasskazov this was his second participation in the Euromed. In the 2008 Championship he also made the podium when he won 3rd place in the Optimist Cadet Class.

Sails galore against the cliffs of Mellieha at the successful 11th Euromed Malta Championship

Sails galore against the cliffs of Mellieha at the successful 11th Euromed Malta Championship

The following are the final results.

Overall Optimist Champion Euromed 2010
Pavel Rassazov – Russia

Boys Optimist Open Class
1. Pavel Rasskazov – Russia
2. Edward Fleri Soler – Malta
3. Ugo Pace – Italy

Girls Optimist Open Class
1. Marina Shcherbakova – Russia
2. Anastasia Godovalnikova – Russia
3. Karyna Manuel – Great Britain

Junior Optimist Boys
1. Salvatore Sciuto – Italy
2. Craig Farrugia Vella – Malta
3. Mihail Shalagin – Russia

Junior Optimist Girls
1. Francesca Zammit – Malta
2. Raffaela Santagatti – Italy
3. Zoya Novikova – Russia

Optimist Boys Cadets
1. Ugo Zunardi – Italy
2. Davide Lavafila – Italy
3. Omri Sela – Israel

Optimist Girls Cadet
1. Anna Nikitina – Russia
2. Giuliana Liuzza – Italy
3. Anna Rusetskaya – Russia

Laser – 4.7 Class Boys
1. Sacha Ruffo – Italy
2. Thomas Zammit Tabona – Malta
3. Alekandr Sarkov – Russia

Laser 4.7 Girls
1. Ella Fleri Soler* – Malta
2. Abigail Fenech – Malta
3. Aleksandra Martynova – Russia

*(1st girl and overall 4.7 champion)

Laser Standard
1. Lorenzo Parma – Italy

The Euromed Malta Championship, is organised by the Malta Young Sailors Club in partnership with KMS (Kunsill Malti Ghall-Isport) and the Mellieha Local Council. The Championship is held under the auspices of the Malta Sailing Federation.

Leave a comment