RMYC Racing Fleets return to the water

Wednesday, June 24, 2020, 7:14

The lifting of Covid-19 restrictions relating to sporting activities was welcomed by members of the Royal Malta Yacht Club who were anxiously waiting for racing activities to resume.

The first race of the revised Club calendar took place last week and was a triple handed round Comino race.  Initial plans to have the race round Gozo were thwarted by weather conditions when wind barely reached five knots.

Not to be discouraged, Race Officer Peter Dimech suggested a shortened course to make the cut-off time more doable for the racers.

It was a slow start for the ten strong fleet as they left Marsamxett Harbour.  Jonathan Gambin’s TonTon Laferla took a good lead, which was maintained until the entrance to the South Comino Channel. It was there that the race had a second start when the yachts were stuck for nearly forty five minutes waiting for pockets of wind to continue the race.

At the Channel, the fleet split into two – with some opting for the centre of the channel whilst others chose to get closer to the islet.  Otra Vez, skippered by Edward Gatt Floridia chose the latter and secured a welcome breeze as they made their way around the island of Comino and led the fleet home.  Second to cross the finish line was Sean Borg’s Xpresso, however it was Gambin’s TonTon who secured second place on corrected time.

In the IRC2 Category it was Mario Sant’s Time Out who took first place.  The RMYC Cruisers division, finishing quite some time behind the rest of the fleet, saw Fernando Grech’s Kontiki take the honours, after an enjoyable din-dong battle all afternoon.

The Royal Malta Yacht Club is now planning their next sortie will take place over the long Mnarja Weekend and will consist of a number of inshore race. For more information visit www.rmyc.org.


IRC Class 1

1st Place Otra Vez Edward Gatt Floridia
2nd Place TonTon Laferla Insurance Jonathan Gambin
3rd Place Xpresso Sean Borg

IRC Class 2

1st Place Time Out Mario Sant
2nd Place J Lance Martin Borg Nicolas
3rd Place Pep Mark Camilleri

RMYC Cruisers

1st Place Kontiki Fernando Grech

Leave a comment