Raymarine Double Handed Round Malta Race 2012‏

Saturday, December 15, 2012, 13:45

The fleet taking part in the Raymarine Figure of eight Double Handed Round Malta and Gozo Race set off to a slow start on Saturday 1st December from Marsamxett Harbour. The race is one of the longest and toughest races in the Royal Malta Yacht Club’s calendar. It is sailed by only two persons on board and follows an 80 nautical mile course around all theMalteseIslands. The race officer of the day Mark Napier sent the yachts on a South bound course towards Marsaxlokk and Filfla before proceeding towards Gozo. The predicted South Westerly wind soon filled in reaching 20 knots at times giving the boats a hard time on the more exposed parts of the course and the race turned out to be quite a quick one. The first boat crossed the finish line at the RMYC at 18:20 and all boats had finished by well before midnight.


Prizes were awarded to the winners at a pasta night on the following Wednesday at the RMYC by Dora Ripard on behalf of Raymarine. The Commodore of the clubGodwin Zammitthanked Raymarine for their continued support of this popular race which is now in its nineteenth year.


IRC Racer Class 1


First :              Xp-Act                                    Sebastian Ripard and Jan Rossi

Second:         Tonton                                   Jonathan Gambin and Matthew Gabriele

Third:              Comanche Raider II                        Ramon Sant Hill and Nicky Fenech


IRC Racer Class 2


First :              Sailaway                               Ray Schembriand Duncan Camilleri

Second:         Lartista                                   Anton Calleja and Matthew Farrugia

Third:              First Time                               Mark Vassallo and Gareth Grech


IRC Cruiser Class


First :              Xplane                                   Sean Borg and Matthew Agius Delicata

Second:         Manana                                Peter Ellul Vincentiand Peter Delia



Leave a comment