Player shortlist announced for the MFPA Awards 2017

Sunday, April 16, 2017, 14:49

Sihon Gauci

The Malta Football Players Association has today announced the 45 player shortlist for the MFPA Awards 2017. The Awards Ceremony will see 24 winners in a plethora of categories ranging from the MFPA Best Player, Best Young Player, Best Female Player and  Best Coach amongst others. The selection process was done in consultation with Premier League coaches, MFPA club delegates and in consideration of playing time during the season.

Now in its fourth year, the MFPA Awards ceremony has become an anticipated event in Maltese football.

On the night, MFPA will also launch a stunning new trophy with a mirror polished aluminium design, crowned by a crystal football. The trophy will be awarded to the MFPA Best Player 2017.

The ceremony will be held on the 8 May 2017, at the Limestone Heritage, Siggiewi.


Player shortlist:

MFPA Best Young Goalkeeper – Jurgen Borg (Gzira United FC ), Jake Galea (Luxol St. Andrews FC), Philip Shranz (Tarxien Rainbows FC)

MFPA Best Young Defender –  Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC), Jean Borg (Valletta FC), Daniel Zerafa (Tarxien Rainbows FC)

MFPA Best Young Midfielder – Johann Bezzina (Hibernians FC), Jake Grech (Hamrun Spartans FC), Ivan Paz (St. Andrews FC)

MFPA Best Young Forward –  Juan Corbalan (Gzira United FC), Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC), Kyrian Nwoko (St. Andrews FC)

MFPA Best XI Goalkeeper (1) –Džiugas Bartkus (Valletta FC), Henry Bonello (Birkirkara FC), Andrew Hogg (Hibernians FC)

MFPA Best XI Right-Back (1) – Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC), Marcelo Dias (Hibernians FC),  Enmy Manuel Peña Beltré (St. Andrews FC)

MFPA Best XI Left-Back (1) – Leandro Aguirre (Valletta FC), Jurgen Pisani (Floriana FC), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara FC)

MFPA Best XI Central Defenders (2) – Andrei Agius (Hibernians FC), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta FC), Enrico Pepe (Florian FC),  Enzo Ruiz (Floriana FC), Elkin Serrano (Balzan FC), Rodolfo Soares (Hibernians FC)

MFPA Best XI Midfielders (4) –  Triston Caruana (Tarxien Rainbows FC), Alan Da Silva Da Souza (Balzan FC), Srdjan Dimitrov (Birkirkara FC), Denni Dos Santos (Sliema Wanderers FC), Paul Fenech (Balzan FC), Jake Grech (Hamrun Spartans FC), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians FC), Jackson Lima (Hibernians FC), Claudio Pani (Valletta FC), Ivan Paz (St. Andrews FC),   Mark Scerri (Sliema Wanderers FC), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara FC)

MFPA Best XI Forwards (2) – Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC), Jean Paul Farrugia (Sliema Wanderers FC), Mario Fontanella (Floriana FC), Bojan Kaljevic (Balzan FC), Matteo Picciollo (Balzan FC), Ignacio Varela (Floriana FC)

Leave a comment