Pisani, Micallef and Vella won the ASMK Autocross

Thursday, December 12, 2019, 7:49

On Friday 13th December 2019, the Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi (ASMK) is to continue with the National Motocross 2019/2020 Championship and on Sunday 15th December 2019 with the  Wotomoto Enduro National Championship 2019/2020. Both events start at 10.00am, where the Motocross event will be held at the Ta’ Qali Sports Complex, while the Enduro will be held in the Fawwara quarry.

Meanwhile on Sunday 8th December 2019, 20 competitors registered in the in the Modified and Standard Class during the second Autocross National Championship 2019/2020 event sponsored by Pasta Poiatti.

Andrew Pisani on his Vauxhall Nova won all of the day’s Heats thus he secured his place in the Class A Final Race. Karl Micallef on his Opel Corsa, Noel Zammit on Fiat Punto, Jean Paul Grech on Peugeot 106, Ryan Scicluna on Ford Fiesta and Kurt Aquilina on Opel Corsa also qualified for the final race.

The finalists sprinted together but Micallef took the helm of the race followed by Pisani and Grech close by. The racers made use of the Joker Lap and during the third Lap Micallef withdrew because of a damaged front wheel. Grech took his place closely followed by Pisani and Scicluna. The attention turned on the first two competitors who were running together. In his last lap Grech took the Joker Lap and held his placing, but shortly before the end of the race, Pisani found the right time to take the lead and crossed the Finish Line. Pisani won the race followed by Grech, Scicluna and Aquilina and Micallef who both came fourth.

Class B’s Final was composed by Justin Buttigieg on an Opel Nova, Ivan Birmingham on a Suzuki Swift, Noel Vella on a Ford Fiesta, Nicolai Aquilina, Karl Curmi and Gilmor Cauchi all on Opel Corsa cars. Vella looked like he was going to win the race from the beginning, followed by Aquilina and Buttigieg. In the fourth Lap Aquilina’s car developed a fault and had to retire while Buttigieg improved his position, still followed by Birmingham. In the last part of the race, Birmingham was also forced to retire due to an engine mechanical damage. So the final result declared Vella as winner followed by Buttigieg, Curmi and Cauchi.

The Standard Class Final was composed by Jerome Peplow on a Kia Avella, Joseph Micallef on an Opel Nova and Melvin Buttigieg on his Citroen AX. During the whole race Peplow followed Micallef to the race’s finishing line.

The next special event is to take place on Sunday 22nd December, starting at 10.00am. The Autocross Heats and Finals finish at around 3.00pm where ASMK will be holding the 24th edition of the Big Car Demolition Derby with 46 cars, starting at 3.30pm.

More information can be found on www.asmk.org.mt or on the Facebook page named Assoċjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can also make contact by email info@asmk.org.mt or Mobile 9942 5489

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment