Update: Next two editions to be held in Luxembourg and Iceland. San Marino to host games in 2017

Sunday, May 29, 2011, 16:00

The History of the Games of the Small States of Europe.

by Sandro Micallef reporting from Vaduz Liechtenstein courtesy of Melita Sports

 At some of the European Olympic Committee meetings, the representatives of the small states suggested the idea of organising, between them, multidisciplinary sporting games. European countries with a population of less than one million inhabitants may participate, if they have an autonomous Olympic committee and are members of the International Olympic Committee. The idea of these games took shape at the Olympic Congress in Baden-Baden in 1981, at which the Olympic committees of the eight small states met for the first time to exchange impressions and work out ways to organise games especially designed for the size of their states. The decision was taken during the Los Angeles Olympic Games in 1984 and the statutes and technical regulations were drawn up.

These Games are held – with little exceptions – in accordance with the rules and regulations of the international federations and the Olympic Charter and are sponsored by the European Olympic Committee. All of the eight countries have already once organized the games; in 2001 the second cycle was started. The GSSE take place every two years either end of May or beginning of June. On 1st June 2009, the Executive Committee of the GSSE decided to include Montenegro as ninth member country.

When and where they have taken place until now: 1985 San Marino 1987 Monaco 1989 Cyprus 1991 Andorra 1993 Malta 1995 Luxembourg 1997 Island 1999 Liechtenstein 2001 San Marino 2003 Malta 2005 Andorra 2007 Monaco 2009 Cyprus 2011 Liechtenstein.

It has now been revealed that the next two editions will be held as follows:

Luxembourg in 2013 – Iceland in 2015

In the meantime of Monday morning the Executive committee of the GSSE has decided that the 2017 GSSE edition will be held in San Marino. The decision was communicated to the Head of delegations at 10.30am.

Leave a comment