Mtarfa reclaim Strickland Cup in dramatic game

Wednesday, January 4, 2012, 10:53

Mtarfa FC, for the second consecutive year are champions of the Roger Strickland cup after defeating Marsascala in a dramatic end of match

During the first half both teams offered great football in front a good sizeable crowd, the difference between both teams was very minimal and until the end of the first half the score remained goal less.

Ten minutes into the second half, Mtarfa captain Roderick Sammut was shown the red card and expelled, although in ten both teams remained well balance and both created various opportunity of goals.

Until on the 86 minute, Mtarfa were awarded a penalty follow a foul committed on player Francesco Azzopardi, his team mate Omar Smier from the penalty spots did not miss and open a momentary lead for Mtarfa.

When all hopes for Marsascala seemed to be coming to an end on the 92 minute player Eboa Ahmadow equalised the match by header after receiving a direct cross from the corner kick. The match ended 1-1 and teams went for the penalty shoot out.
For Mtarfa scored: Giorgio Cumbo, Omar Smier, Jean Paul Ciantar, Julian Fenech and Jeffrey Azzopardi. While Francesco Azzopardi failed the only penalty for the yellow and green stripes.

For Marsaskala scored: Hori Pace, Felix Peplow, Ennio Desira, Jonathan Debono and Eboa Ahmadow. While Anthony Zahra and Adrian Domenicus missed from penalty spot.

Final score Marsaskala Mtarfa vs 1-1 (7-6 after penalties),

In the other match valid for the third and fourth place Swieqi United defeated Qrendi with the score of 3-1, for Swieq scored Ivan Scicluna (2) and Timothy Hampton while for Qrendi scored Julian Camilleri, all goals were scored during the first half.

Final score 1-3 Qrendi vs Swieqi

All matches were played at the Victor Tedesco Stadium (Hamrun) under the auspicious of the MFA. This trophy is organized by Swieqi United together with Mtarfa FC and sponsored by Roger Strickland.

Leave a comment