Mtarfa FC beat Swieqi United on penalties to win the Roger Strickland Cup

Thursday, January 13, 2011, 13:06

by Justin Fenech.

The first edition of the Roger Strickland Cup was won by Mtarfa on the 9th of January 2011 after they beat Swieqi United 4-2 on penalties.The lively match was viewed by a strong crowd at the Rabat Ground in Mtarfa. Swieqi United opened the score on the 40th minute thanks to a goal by Michael Ciappara. Mtarfa levelled through Darik M.Abdilla shortly after the start of the 2nd half. After 90minutes the score remained level so the match went to penalties. Mtarfa’s finishing from the spot proved to be the difference between both sides and celebrations broke out when Darik scored the winning penalty.

The trophy and medals where presented by MFA Deputy General Secretary Mr. Louis Micallef and the founder of the Cup, Mr. Roger Strickland Jr. Mtarfa President Mr. Joseph Vassallo thanked Mr Roger Strickland for his initiative. He described the event as a success and enjoyed every moment of the friendly and sportive environment shared between both clubs. He also thanked the MFA for the endorsement of the cup and particularly the President, Mr. Bjorn Vassallo and Mr. Louis Micallef for their support. He concluded by thanking all players, coaches and the executive committees of both clubs.

Swieqi United President Mr. Ralph Aguis Fernandez also thanked Mr Roger Strickland and the MFA for their support. He congratulated Mtarfa for winning the cup and expressed his delight at the collaboration between both clubs. He concluded by saying that Swieqi United would look forward to further editions of the Roger Strickland Cup and hoped for further support and interest from the general public.

Swieqi United FC would like to thank its sponsors namely Stargames, Sixt, Robert Arrigo & Sons, Noel Muscat & Co, Vacancy Centre, Logix, Untangled Media, Sportika and Cavalieri Hotel. Mtarfa FC would like to thank its sponsors namely Shark Energy Drink, Ten Shake Mobile Disco, and Angelo Store.



Leave a comment