MSV Life Masters Football: Start Of Żmerċ Pub Christmas Tournament

Tuesday, December 20, 2016, 14:32

Gavin Muscat

Some interesting results at the start of ŻMERĊ PUB CHRISTMAS TOURNAMENT.  Although B’Kara had any easy passage into the quarter finals by beating Zurrieq Wolves, Rabat Cavette, Zabbar St. Patrick and Mosta Shaggy Pub had some stiff opposition before managing  to qualify.

B’Kara had no trouble in beating modest Zurrieq Wolves with a high score of 14-0, with their player Ryan Debattista scoring no less than six goals and  Mark Deguara had also a good game scoring four.  Zurrieq players lost, but they still keep on trying and showing sportsmanship at its best.


Rabat Cavette beat Tal-Qroqq 8-3 to go for the quarter finals.  They had a good lead of 3-0 by the end  of the first half, and kept on scoring to lead 8-0. However in the last ten minutes Tal-Qroqq reacted strongly and scored three consecutive goals to make the final score more respectable.


Mosta Shaggy Pub managed to beat Valletta 8-3 to qualify. The first half was interesting, well balanced with Valetta losing 3-2 and threw away too many scoring chances. They could have finished in the lead.  However, they lost their touch in the second half when after managing to get level, from then after Mosta dominated  till the end scoring  five goals with no answer from the Citizens. Paul Bugeja of Mosta was the star of the game also managing a hat-trick.


Zabbar St. Patrick’s beat Dingli Desana 8-5.  Without showing any disrespect to Zabbar who had a good game and deserved their win, Dingli had a depleted side with several regular players missing through injury.   It was Dingli that opened the score after six minutes, but seconds after Zabbar made 1-1 and went on to built up a good lead of 5-1 before going for the break.  In the second half, Dingli played much better inspired by their best scorer Jeffrey Gauci who managed four goals..   However, trying as they might, Dingli only managed to reduce the gap to 8-5.


Birkirkara – Żurrieq Wolves 14 -0

Birkirkara Scorers: R. Debattista 6, M. Deguara 4, M. Camilleri 2, E. Bonnici, J. Buttigieg

Referee: J. Penza


Rabat Cavette – Tal-Qroqq  4-6

Rabat Scorers: C. Muscat 3, G. Vassallo 2, C. Micallef, F. Degabreale, K. Loughborough

Tal-Qroqq Scorers : A. Allen, J. Fenech, CA Camenzuli

Referee: J. Penza


Dingli Desana – Żabbar St.Patrick 5-8

Dingli  Scorers: J. Gauci 4, E. Casha

Żabbar Scorers: G. Scerri 2, M. Zerafa 2, S. Aquilina 2,  S. Farrugia,  A. Camilleri

Referee: S. Brignone


Mosta- Valletta Masters 8-3

Mosta Scorers: P. Bugeja 3, K. Sciberras, J. Chetcuti, P. Scerri, L. Calleja, C. Penza

Valletta Scorers: L. Vidal, L. MacKay, J. Galea

Referee: S. Brignone



14 December  6.45pm  Wardija – Birkirkara

8.00pm  Melita – Rabat

15 December  6.45pm   Marsa – Żabbar

6.30pm Jival – Mosta




Leave a comment