Mont Cenis Honey and Lady de Vindecy win top races

Friday, December 10, 2010, 18:18

by Kenneth Vella.

The 58th meeting of the season held Wednesday afternoon at the Marsa Race Track, was made up of ten races all semi finals for French trotters. These races were organised on a long distance of 2640m with the two Prix de Vincennes semi finals for class Premier trotters being the major attraction of the day. These two races were won by Mont Cenis Honey driven by Noel Baldacchino and mare Lady de Vindecy and Julian Farrugia.

Noel Baldacchino (Photo

Noel Baldacchino (Photo

These championships for French trotters are being organised by the Malta Racing Club thanks to the financial support of the French Association Societe’ du Cheval Francais. In the first semi final for class Premier trotters, favourite Mont Cenis Honey (Noel Baldacchino) led all the way and in the final metres managed to hold off the challenge of James de l’Iton (Charles Camilleri) and Lou Petiot (Michael Axisa). Land Havaroche (James Carabott) and Kamis de l’Eveche (Salvu Vella) also moved to the final stage. Mont Cenis Honey registered its third win in a row and clocked an average time of 1.17.3” per kilometre.

In the second class Premier semi final, favourite In Vitro du Bourg (Ivan Bilocca) was overtaken midway through the final straight by Lady de Vindecy (Julian Farrugia) which obtained its third win of the year in an average time of 1.17” per kilometer. Lucky Marceaux (Rodney Gatt), Kakisis (Johan Axisa) and Madis Boy (Charles Camilleri) also qualified for the final stage. 

Also from the two Prix d’Enghien Semi Finals for class Gold trotters, ten horses moved to the final stage. In the first semi final, Kiflosak Cordiere (Frencu Cassar) dashed strongly from the outside midway through the final stage and obtained its fourth win of the season from Max Galbe (Carmelo Agius), Never Better (David Ellul), Nill’s Daka (Mario Farrugia) and Lascar Beaujolais (Clive Gerada).  Lucky Fan (Charles Camilleri) profited from the disqualification of Match des Bannes (Noel Baldacchino) and L’Ideal De Fersan (Carl Caruana) during the final metres of the second class Gold semi final. Lucky Fan won the race from Intrus des Rioults (Carmelo Micallef), Look Castelets (Rodney Gatt), Lucky des Brisants (Raymond Micallef) and Noble d’Urzy (Andrew Farrugia).

Wednesday’s winners

Race 1. Prix de Caen Semi Final.  Class Copper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Newmarket Boy (Shawn Portelli) – 1.19”

Race 2. Prix de Caen Semi Final.  ClassCopper. Dist – 2640m. 1. Kendo du Chene (Larson Mifsud) – 1.18.9”

Race 3. Prix de Cagnes Sur Mer Semi Final. Class Bronze. Dist – 2640m 1. Koko Loco (Michael Ellul) – 1.17.8”

Race 4. Prix de Cagnes Sur Mer Semi Final. Klassi Bronze. Dist – 2640m 1. Mousko Royal (Mario Fenech) – 1.18”

Race 5. Prix de Cabourg Semi Final. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Neo de Mira (George Muscat) – 1.18.4”

Race 6. Prix d’Enghien Semi Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Kiflosak Cordiere (Frencu Cassar) -  1.17.9”

Race 7. Prix de Vincennes Semi Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m. 1. Mont Cenis Honey (Noel Baldacchino) – 1.17.3”

Race 8. Prix d’Enghien Semi Final. Class Gold. Dist – 2640m. 1. Lucky Fan (Charles Camilleri) – 1.16.9”

Race 9. Prix de Vincennes Semi Final. Class Premier. Dist – 2640m 1. Lady de Vindecy (Julian Farrugia) – 1.17”

Race 10. Prix de Cabourg Semi Final. Class Silver. Dist – 2640m. 1. Muflier des Fleurs (Noel Baldacchino) -  1.16.6”

Michael Sultana 6th in Sicily

On Wednesday, Maltese jockey Michael Sultana represented Malta in the last stage of the Mediterranean Championship for jockeys held at the Mediterranean Racetrack in Syracuse, Sicily on a distance of 2100m. Sultana mounted Rio Torto and finished in 6th place. This race was won by Italian jockey Fusco with Ciko Jet infront of Viking Med mounted by Zergane from Marocco and Saltace driven by Tunisian Mahfoudh. With this result the Marocco jockeys were crowned as the Mediterranean champions for this year with Malta finishing in second place.


Leave a comment