Melita Malta Football Awards tonight

Wednesday, June 2, 2010, 9:50

Arsenal’s Kyle Bartley amongst distinguished guests

The Grand Hotel Excelsior will tonight host the 9th edition of the Melita Malta Football Awards. This event which was first organized in 2002 has since then been organized on a yearly basis and has gained popularity amongst local football players, administrators and football fans.

Tonight a total of 16 Awards will be awarded ranging from the best players in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Division to Awards featuring specific roles for players who played in the BOV Premier League 2009/10 such as Best Goalkeeper, Best Defender, Best Striker, Best Midfielder, Most promising youngster, Best Coach, Best player over 35 years of age.

The sporting public is being invited to vote for one category which is the Best Goal of the season by sending an SMS on 50614914 with the name of the scorer amongst the 5 shortlisted goals below:

Saviour Darmanin and Catherine Micallef - Photo courtesy of Stephen Gatt

Saviour Darmanin and Catherine Micallef - Photo courtesy of Stephen Gatt

SHAUN BAJADA (B’KARA) – 30/04/2010 Tarxien vs Birkirkara

RYAN DARMANIN (FLORIANA) – 20/03/2010 Dingli vs Floriana

RYAN FENECH (SLIEMA W.) – 15/04/2010 Sliema W. vs Tarxien

DENNI ROCHA DOS SANTOS (TARXIEN R.) – 24/04/2010 Tarxien vs Qormi

NJONGO PRISO (VALLETTA) – 23/04/2010 Valletta vs Sliema

A variety of special awards will also be given out during this event which is organized by local Sports Journalist Sandro Micallef on behalf of Events Services.

The Melita Malta Football Awards will be presented by Sports Journalist and TV presenter Catherine Micallef along with ex-Goalkeeper Saviour Darmanin. The event will be broadcast live on both Melita Sports channel and also on the Promotion Channel of Melita which is open to all Melita TV subscribers.

Arsenal’s young talent Kyle Bartley who made his debut with Arsen Wenger’s team in the 2009/10 UEFA Champions League match versus Olympiacos will be amongst the distinguished guests during this Gala event.

The full list of finalists can be viewed from link

Leave a comment