Melita Betfair cricket Summer League 2012 Winners

Tuesday, August 14, 2012, 12:00

On Saturday the MCA Summer Cricket league continued with Melita Betfair C.C playing against Krishna C.C. Krishna were looking to win so at least they can earn second place in the league. TheKrishnateam batted first and had a bad start losing top batsmen Nowell Khosla on the second ball of the innings. This did not deter the focus of the other batsmen, Dhruv Duggal smashed twenty three runs from eighteen balls before being caught. Then the innings of the tournament was played by Bikram Arora, he made fifty one runs from thirty balls which included five sixes and two fours. TheKrishnateam amassed 149 runs from their allotted overs. For Melita, Derek Ali and Mark G Sacco took two wickets each while, Chris Riorden, Adam Krishna and Chris Naudi took a  wicket each. In reply the Melita batsmen went out swinging and ended up goung back to the pavilion just as quick. They were bowled out for 102 runs with Andy Naudi top scoring with twenty four runs, Mark G Sacco seventeen runs and Chris Riorden sixteen runs. Bikram Arora was again the torturer for Melita, he took four wickets. Ewan Perens, Pragnesh Vaso and Robert Krishna took two wickets a piece and Kevin Krishna took one.


Next Saturday the last game of the Summer league will be played between Marsa C.C and Overseas C.C. Overseas are looking for their first win.

Also the Malta Select team will be taking on the Rest in the morning game.


On Sunday the Women’s Summer League commenced with two games being played between the Marsa C.C and the Overseas C.C. In the first game the Marsa team batted first and totalled 71 runs. Daniela Aquilina scored thirty five runs and Carole Khosla scored twenty four runs. For Overseas Talitha Van Colan was the only wicket taker. The Overseas team made the required runs in the thirteenth over. Sarah Khosla scored thirty eight runs and Rose Bulteel twenty one runs. For Marsa Sarah Ghoseroy and Daniela Aquilina took a wicket each. Overseas win the first game.

In the second game the Overseas batted first and totalled 73 runs. Rose Bulteel twenty runs, Talitha Van Colen nineteen runs , Kathleen Bulteel eighteen runs and Sarah Khosla eleven runs. The Marsa team managed to win the game of the last ball of the innings. Carole Khosla scored nineteen runs as did Daniela Aqulina. Amy Caruana top scored with twenty four runs.

The series is squared. The next games are on the 26th August were two more games will be played, if still a draw, then a bowl out will decide the winners.

Leave a comment