Melita beat Krishna to take full points

Sunday, November 7, 2010, 22:16

On Saturday the MCA Winter league commenced with holders Melita Betfair C.C taking on Krishna C.C. Betfair won the toss and elected to bowl first. Nowell Khosla and Dave Borg gave Krishna a sterling start with Borg being the highlight smashing twenty five runs of one over. Borg retired after thirty balls (local rule) ending with thirty five runs including two sixes and four fours.

Khosla ended with twenty two runs after being caught. Andy Lenard made twenty runs and Joy Ghoseroy nineteen. Darren Grech made six runs before being run out while Mike Caruana (eight runs) and Will Nicholls (six runs) remained not out. With the extras the Krishna team totalled 124 runs from their twenty overs. For Betfair Justin Brooke was the main wicket taker with two while Bikram Arora, Jim Heasman, and Malcolm Crabbe all took a wicket each.

In reply for Betfair, the Naudi Brothers put on a show. Andy opening the innings with Malcolm Crabbe (ten runs) retired making thirty eight runs and Chris seeing his team home with thirty seven runs not out. Bikram Arora chipped in with twenty eight runs. For Krishna Andy Lenard and Mike Caruana were the main wicket takers with two while Nowell Khosla took one. From the fielding point from Krishna one must highlight the fielding efforts of John Rusher who was superb, nothing went through him.

From the win Melita Betfair C.C earned eight points while Krishna C.C only managed one. The points system is worked as follows, six points for a win, one bonus batting points for scoring 125 runs and an extra point for every twenty five runs scored, one bonus bowling point for taking four wickets and an extra point for bowling the opposition out. Any ties/draws or no results through rain will result in the two teams sharing the win points.

Leave a comment