Mauro Anastasi and Sue Abela Successfully defend their BOV Ten Pin Bowling National Championships

Thursday, August 13, 2020, 11:20

Mauro Anastasi and Sue Abela confirmed their status as Malta’s top bowlers winning the BOV Ten Pin Bowling National Championships 2020.

Anastasi made it 4 national championships in a row with a dominant performance throughout the 3 days, 24 game long event. He led from start to finish, at an almost 220 average pace, and was never in any danger of losing his grip on the title.

He finished almost 300 pins ahead of second placed Rankin Camilleri, followed by Dennis Mercieca who was second on day 2, after having overtaken Matthew Magro who was closest to Anastasi after the first day.

With his sixth national Championship, Anastasi has continued to exert his dominance over the local scene.  The highest placed under 16 bowler was Dwayne Zahra, who ended up 6th overall, with a strong 195 average.

The ladies event was a 2 horse race from the start, with a battle between the 2 best Maltese female bowlers – Sara Xuereb, the under 23 champion and 2 time national Champion , and the established Sue Abela, who has won these championships a remarkable 24 times!

Xuereb, who has been chosen to further her studies while working on her bowling career in the US in the coming months, led from day 1; however Abela was always close by notwithstanding a nasty injury to her finger midway through the first day.

Abela kept up the pressure powering through the pain and it all boiled down to the very last frame of the last game. Abela managed to edge out Xuereb by just 4 pins (over a total of 4672 pins) for a nail biting end, and successfully defend the title she won in 2019.

Paul Baldacchino, President of the Malta Ten-Pin Bowling Association presented the trophies to the Champions. Bank of Valletta is a major supporter of sporting initiatives in Malta and has been one of the main sponsors of the MTBA over the past years.

Leave a comment