Matthew Gauci won the WotoMoto Enduro National Championship

Wednesday, June 26, 2019, 8:29

Last Sunday the Assocjazzjoni Sport Mutur u Karozzi (ASMK) organized the last event of the WotoMoto National Enduro Championship 2018-2019. This event was held in the ideal environment for the Moto-Enduro at the Fawwara quarry. 17 competitors registered for this last championship competition and were divided into four classes.

All competitors completed their first tests on the 3 kilometers long route. During the Pole Position Bernard Sammut on a Beta 250cc registered the fastest time overall and was followed by Matthew Gauci on Beta and Garry Debono on a KTM.

This was the main struggle between Sammut and Gauci where Gauci had a small advantage in points over Sammut but still it was difficult for Gauci to guarantee the title too soon.

In the first official Heat Gauci shook Sammut as he registered his first best time of 3 minutes 2.044 seconds to that of Sammut who registered his best time of 3 minutes 5.456 seconds. Both Gauci and Sammut were followed by Aidan Camilleri on a KTM with his best time of 3 minutes and 29.95 seconds.

During the Second official Heat Gauci improved his lap time when he succeeded to register an under two minutes bracket with his best time of 2 minutes 53.704 seconds followed by Sammut who also improved his Lap time to under the two minutes bracket but his best time was that of 2 minutes 57.03 seconds. Gauci and Sammut during this Heat were followed by Garry Debono with a lap time of 3 minutes 19.038 seconds.

Matthew Gauci on his Beta was the overall winner as he won this event and thus he was declared Champion for the first time in the ASMK National WotoMoto Enduro Championship in 2018/2019. During this season Gauci won three wins from six available events while in the other three events he won second place in two events and one third place. Thus Gauci closed the National ranking with 107 points and was followed by Bernard Sammut also on a Beta Enduro motorcycle. Sammut won the title of Runner-up in this top Class with a total of 94 points. During this season Sammut was forced to miss one event due to an injury and despite this he registered three wins from five events and also won two second overall placings in this championship race.

In other classes Aidan Camilleri on his KTM motorcycle won the Class B followed by Gabriel Muscat on his KTM and by Roger Grima on his Honda who finished in third place.

In Class C Klye Stone on a KTM won this class followed by Kurt Muscat on a Yamaha motorcycle.

In the Junior Class young Julian Scicluna won this class on his electric motor powered OSET and was followed by Antonie Muscat on a KTM.

ASMK sent the best regards to the new WotoMoto Enduro Champion Matthew Gauci and also thank all officers, competitors and the main Sponsor WotoMoto for a successful Championship. The Wotomoto  Enduro Championship 2019/2020 returns in October.

The ASMK Administrative Committee closed the registration of the ‘Van Demolition Derby 2019’. For this demolition edition, 16 competitors are registered and expected to participate in the event which is scheduled to take place on Saturday 13 July 2019, starting late in the evening under the artificial lighting.

More information can found on or on the Facebook page Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can make contact by email on or calling 9942 5489.

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment