Birkirkara move to second place

Saturday, March 12, 2011, 16:27

by Joshua Cacciattolo

Full score Birkirkara 4-1 Marsaxlokk

Birkirkara moved to second place thanks to a Ryan Scicluna opener, Ibrahim Babatunde, Captain Michael Galea and Emiliano Lattes goals. In the end Marsaxlokk reduce the gap from Andrew Decesare own goal.

Birkirkara now have twenty one points from twenty two games. Marsaxlokk are now in fourth place with nineteen points

Marsaxlokk coach Patrick Curmi opted for a 4-3-1-2 formation. Martin Deanov supported strikers Ryan Darmanin and Julio Alcorse. Florent Raimy, Trevor Tempelman and Gareth Sciberras formed a diamond midfield. Marsaxlokk top scorer Alfred Effiong was on the bench after he missed last week ‘s 1-0 victory against Tarxien Rainbows.

Birkirkara mentor Paul Zammit fielded his usual 4-3-3 formation. Wingers Trevor Cilia, Nigerian Ibrahim Babatunde supporting the lone striker Michael Galea. Goalkeeper Manuel Bartolo replaced the injured Michael Fraser while Shaun Bajada and Rowen Muscat were also out of today’s encounter

In today’s first match Sliema Wanderers beat the almost relegated Vittoriosa 2-1. Hibernians and Sliema Wanderers have now secured a Premier League status for next season.

First Half

5min: Andrew Decesare shot was saved by Marsaxlokk goalkeeper Ruben Gauci.

35min Ryan Scicluna open his career account after his low shot beat Marsalokk custodian Ruben Gauci after a superb assist from Ibrahim Babatunde 0-1.

44min: Ibrahim Babatunde scored his first goal for Birkirkara! The Nigerian rebound hit the back of the net after Ruben Gauci held a close range Trevor Cilia header 2-0.

Second Half

53min: Manuel Bartolo saved Martin Deanov ‘s direct corner kick.

70min: Manuel Bartolo saved superbly from an Alfred Effiong low shot.

74min: Michael Galea sealed the issue with a third goal after he was served by Andrew Scicluna on the left flank 3-0.

88min: Marsaxlokk reduce the score with an Andrew Decesare own goal.

90min: Emiliano Lattes rebuilt a three goal advantage after he passed the ball between Ruben Gauci’s legs.

Marsaxlokk FC: R.Gauci, M.Licari, C.Mamo, E.Yanchev, R.Galabov, F.Raimy(R.Gravata 85min), G.Sciberras, T.Tempelman, M.Deanov, R.Darmanin(S.Eboh 75min), J.Alcorse(A.Effiong 54min)

Birkirkara: M.Bartolo, T.Cilia (E.Lattes70min), A.Agius, N.Vukanac, R.Scicluna, A.Decesare, J.Zerafa, P.Fenech, A.Buhagiar(T.Vella 85min), M.Galea(Rodolfo 82min), I.Babatunde

Referee: Andre Arciola

Yellow Cards:

Man of the Match: Andre Agius (Birkirkara)

Attendance: 648


  1. Il-Bidwi says:

    l istess kif gralkom intkom is sena l ohra wara l flejjes kbar li nfaqtu :)





Leave a comment