Marsaxlokk collapse in a space of eight minutes

Sunday, October 30, 2011, 15:51

Final Score: Balzan Youths 3-1 Marsaxlokk

Balzan Youths registered the third win of the season after beaten strugglers Marsaxlokk at the Victor Tedesco Stadium. Balzan scored the all important goals in a space of eight minutes through Roderick Briffa, Kris Bright and former Valletta player Dylan Grima. Eleven minutes from time Marsaxlokk scored a consolation goal.

Balzan Youths now have ten points from nine games and Marsaxlokk now lie second from bottom joined with Tarxien Rainbows with just seven points from nine games

Marsaxlokk today under caretaker coach Louis Cutajar, opted for an offensive 4-2-3-1 formation as Argentinean Emiliano Lattes, Bulgarian Martin Deanov supported centre striker Obinna Obiefule. The South sidersis without defender Clive Brincat, Sacha Borg as youngster Jean Paul Farrugia returned on the bench after he missed some rucial games.

Balzan Youths coach Ivan Zammit opted for an offensive 4-1-3 formation as New Zeland striker Kris Bright started as a lone striker supported by youngsters Miguel Ciantar and Dylan Grima.

Second Half

54min: After a dull first half Balzan open the score when Roderick Farrugia’s powerful shot beat Marsaxlokk helpless goalkeeper Rueben Gauci.

56min: Two minutes later Balzan were close to a second goal. Kris Bright failed to dribble goalkeeper Rueben Debono the ball fell in Miguel Ciantar path who shot off target.

58min: Balzan scored the second after Kris Bright tapped in Miguel Ciantar’s cross.

64min: Dylan Grima scored his first goal of the season after he netted in an empty net.

79min: Marsaxlokk’s Jean Paul Farrugia diagonal shot beat Balzan goalkeeper Matthew Camilleri.

Balzan Y: M.Camilleri, Y.Camilleri, B.Guga, J.Francica, C.Ciantar (R.Farrugia), N.Tasic, D.Grima, D.Fenech, P.Dos Santos, M.Ciantar (S.Ciscaldi), K.Bright

Marsaxlokk: R.Gauci, M.Licari, J.Xerri, C.Campagnoli, C.Mamo, F.Raimy, S.Eboh (D.Grech), G.Caruana, M.Deanov, E.Lattes (J.P.Farrugia), O.Obiefule

Referee: Mario Apap

Yellow Cards:

Man of the Match: Pedro Dos Santos Calcado

Leave a comment