Marlon Caruana won the ASMK Demolition Derby 2018

Wednesday, January 2, 2019, 11:05

Next Sunday ASMK will be holding the third event of the Motocross season  with the Honda Motocross  National Championship 2018/2019. The program starts at 10:00am at the ASMK Sports Complex in Ta’ Qali.

Meanwhile on Sunday 23rd December 2018, Assoċjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi organized the annual special Christmas event. This day has now been well established in the calendar of ASMK so much so that this was the 25th edition of a motorsport special event organized to raise funds for the Istrina. An eventful day that continued to encourage ASMK to organize this important event with the participation of 68 competitors.

The activity began at 9: 00am with the Motocross Fun Race. This consisted of an hour race between 9 teams of two riders per team. During this Relay Race which was controlled by electronic equipment, saw the winning team of Bernard Sammut on his Husqvarna along with Ryan Faenza on a Yamaha. The team of Kyle Camilleri on a KTM along with Mark Attard on a Yamaha won the runner-up placing. Third place finishing team was composed by Mark Mamo on Yamaha along with Aaron Zammit on a KTM while fourth place team was composed by Debono Gary on a KTM motorcycle alongside with James Mamo on a Yamaha. Daniel Caruana on a Honda along with Luke Sheldon on Yamaha finished in fifth place while sixth place team was composed by Jorn Stellini along with Arthur Micallef both on KTM motorcycles.

The day continued with a second spectacular event of the National Autocross Championship 2018/2019 which is sponsored by ASMK and Pasta Poaitti. On a perfect track prepared on the day before the race resulted in spectacular races. The fine weather and good conditions were ideal for this sport event. 25 competitors were divided into three classes Autocross, namely for Modified, for Standard class drivers and another class for Gozo participants.

The Autocross Modified Final race was formed by Noel Zammit on a Fiat Punto, the Opel Corsa of Terence Azzopardi, Ryan Scicluna on a Ford Fiesta, Joseph Micallef and Melo Zammit both on Opel Corsa cars. During the start Azzopardi took the lead followed by Melo Zammit and Joseph Micallef when in fourth lap Zammit dropped two positions but regained one placing by the end of the race. Finally Azzopardi won this Final followed by Scicluna and Melo Zammit. Fourth and fifth place finishers were Noel Zammit and Noel Micallef respectively.

The Autocross Modified Class B Final Race had this result: – Theo Micallef on a Ford Fiesta won this class followed by Joseph Spiteri on an Opel Corsa and Ivan Birmingham on a Suzuki Swift while Brandon Lee Vassallo finished fourth on his Peugeot 205.

The ‘Standard Class’ included the return of Melvin Buttigieg driving his Citreon AX and he proudly managed to win this class followed by Kyle Agius on an Opel Nova and Jerome Peplow on a Kia Avella. Fourth place finished Nicovich Chircop on a Peugeot 106 while Johann Vella on an Opel Nova placed 5th.

Following the Gozo Autocross Race Final, George Scerri on Citroen AX won this class followed by Chris Sultana on Daewoo Racer and Clayton Cardona on a Peugeot 106. Fourth place came JJ Rapa on Volkswagen Polo. This class was composed of 9 competitors earlier in the day.

At 3:00pm the Demolition Derby started as planned. 30 cars were registered for this year’s edition but only 25 cars made it to the Start following scrupulous scrutinizing on Saturday mainly for safety standards.

The Demolition Derby competitors were Etienne Piscopo on a Lada Van, Daniel Gauci Borda on a Hyundai Estate, Clayton Camilleri on a Hyundai Stellar, Brian Mascari on a Lada Van, Frank Butler on a Volvo, Clayton Gravina on a Hyundai Stellar, Herman Xuereb on a BMW, Charlie Falzon on a Daewoo Racer, John Micallef on a Hyundai Pony, Isaac Vella on Ford Escort, Massimo Versace on a Hyundai Stellar, Philip Mangion on a Lada Van, Marlon Caruana on his winning Mercedes 123, Joshua Bowell on a Lada Van, Andre Cassar on a  Mercedes 123, Omar Fouad Tayel on a Hyundai Accent, Larkin Butler on the Runner-Up Holden, Leo Butler on his Mercedes E Class, Daimler Micallef on his Toyota Corolla, Etienne Galea on a Datsun Van, Joshua Peplow on a Kia Mentor, Karl Mizzi on a Ford Consul, Jurgen Gatt on a Volvo, Micheal Delia on a Lada Van and Roderick Schembri on a Peugeot 405.

On a purposely over-wet track for the drivers’ safety in combat 25 competitors in full kit made it to the Demolition Race Start-Line while hundreds of spectators present watched every move of these brave drivers in competition. This 25th edition was dominated by various kinds of modern cars and almost 50% of the drivers were new to this type of motorsport.

The lined-up cars performed two exhibition laps before starting the banging in all directions except on the driver’s door. We saw these drivers hitting competitor’s cars with special tactics while they do their best to save their own cars on track. Spectacular crashes were seen before these cars were discarded as scrap metal. The cars that stood out from the rest almost to the final were the most modern Mercedes E Class car driven by Leo Butler, the Mercedes 123 of Marlon Caruana, the Holden of Larkin Butler and the Ford Consul of Karl Mizzi that besides they are old cars yet they are strong. The participation of members from the Malta Police Garage and Sport sections also stood out with their participation in this year’s car Demolition. They prepared a Peugeot 405 in a short while and this initiative was appreciated by both the competitors and many spectators too.

Besides all the difficulties to buy cars for the Demolition, ASMK also noted that the number of participants is growing.

After about an hour of banging, only two cars were still moving under their own power. The rest were all abandoned except for the Mercedes 123 driven by Marlon Caruana and the Holden driven by Larkin Butler. They both spent 10 minutes trying to knock down each other but the struggle came to the final blow when Larkin’s Holden refused to drive though its engine was still running following a face to face blow at low speed.  As Marlon’s Mercedes was the last car still moving Marlon was declared as the 2018 Demolition Winner and Larkin Butler is this event’s Runner-Up. Both drivers shook hands and greeted each other on the roof of the winning car among cheers from the grand-stands. The presentation took place a few minutes later on the Podium. Trophies were presented to the winners by the President and Vice-President of ASMK.

Meanwhile, ASMK announced the ASMK Championships dates for Autocross, Motocross, Trials and Enduro races for the year 2019 and the four Demolition Derbies as published on the A.S.M.K.’s website. It’s important to note that one Demolition Race is to be held only for female drivers. This initiative is taken to continue urging woman to participate more in motorsport events.

For more information visit or find us on Facebook A.S.M.K. Malta.

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment