Malta wins top honour

Wednesday, December 21, 2011, 16:51

by Wilfred Sultana

Malta’s Edward Fleri Soler won the 12th edition of the Euromed Malta Championship 2011.

The Championship, which came to an end yesterday (Tuesday), was held at Mellieħa Bay and was made up of nine races spread over four days.  The event was contested by 130 competitors from 10 nations.

Full Results were:

Overall Winner: Edward Fleri Soler (MLT)

Optimist Class Open: 1st Edward Fleri Soler (MLT); 2nd Karyna Manuel (GBR), 3rd Thomas Bonello Ghio (MLT).

Optimist Class Cadet Open: 1st Danill Usachev (RUS); 2nd Semen Mekhanikov (RUS); 3rd Zoya Novikova (RUS).

Optimist Class Cadet Female: 1st Zoya Novikova (RUS); 2nd Katryna Esposito (MLT); 3rd Shira Gros (ISR).

Optimist Novice: 1st Armando Caronna (ITA); 2nd Kane Seychell (MLT); 3rd Nick Bonello Ghio (MLT).

Laser 4.7 Class: 1st Juan-Alberto Casalone (MON); Giorgio Carlino (ITA); 3rd Edward Albert Davie (MON).

Feva Class: 1st E. Wells/J. Wells (GBR); 2nd A. Midsud/M. Mifsud (MLT); 3rd A. Khazmi/ M. Ciantar (MLT).

The Malta Euromed Championship was organised by the Malta Young Sailors Club with the cooperation of the Kunsill Malti għall-iSport and the Mellieħa Local Council and held under the patronage of the Malta Sailing Federation.  Mellieha Bay Hotel was the Championship’s Official Hotel while the Point Break beach club was the event’s Headquarters.


Leave a comment