- Sport In Malta - http://www.sportinmalta.com -

Malta U-21 squad for Cyprus, Hungary qualifiers

Posted By Sportinmalta On August 24, 2017 @ 6:14 pm In Featured,Football | No Comments

Malta Under-21 coach Silvio Vella has called a 20-man squad for the UEFA U-21 Championship Group 6 qualifiers away to Cyprus and Hungary.

The Malta U-21 team resume their qualifying campaign with a match against Cyprus at the AEK Arena, Larnaca on September 1 (kick-off 18.00). Four days later, Vella’s boys meet Hungary at the Gyirmoti Stadium (Gyor) at 17.00.

In their opening match, played on March 27, the Maltese youngsters suffered a narrow 2-1 defeat away to Belgium.

Vella has awarded a first call-up to James Baldacchino, the Maltese-Australian defender who signed for Floriana in the close season, and Mosta midfielder Dexter Xuereb.

Myles Beerman returns to the Malta U-21 squad after the Rangers left-back was included in the senior squad for the friendly match against Ukraine and the FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifier against Slovenia. Both games were played in June.

All the Malta-based players in Vella’s selection are on the books of BOV Premier League clubs.

The 20-strong squad comprises a number of players who figured for the Malta U-21 team that gained a record tally of 11 points in the last UEFA U-21 Championship qualifying campaign.

These include Jean Borg, Jake Grech, Matthew Guillaumier, Jurgen Degabriele, Aidan Friggier and Joseph Mbong.

The Malta U-21 contingent will depart for Cyprus on August 30, and return from Hungary on September 6.

Malta National U21 Team
U21 Edition 2017/19 –U21 UEFA QR Matches Cyprus v Malta & Hungary v Malta

Squad No Name Surname DOB DD-MM-YYYY Club Apps


1 Jake Galea 15/04/1996 Hamrun Spartans FC
2 Philip Schranz 14/07/1996 Birkirkara FC


3 Jean Borg 08/01/1998 Valletta FC
4 James Baldacchino 20/07/1996 Floriana FC
5 Karl Micallef 08/09/1996 Hamrun Spartans FC
6 Nikolai Muscat 13/07/1996 Gzira United FC
7 Dunstan Vella 27/04/1996 Hibernians FC
8 Kurt Zammit 26/02/1996 Birkirkara FC
9 Sean Cipriott 10/09/1997 Tarxien Rainbows FC
10 Michele Sansone 02/07/1998 Sliema Wanderers FC


11 Myles Beerman 13/03/1999 Glasgow FC
12 Dexter Xuereb 21/09/1997 Mosta FC
13 James Brincat 03/12/1996 Tarxien Rainbows FC
14 Jake Grech 08/11/1997 Birkirkara FC
15 Matthew Guillaumier 09/04/1998 Birkirkara FC
16 Zachary Scerri 08/03/1996 Gzira United FC


17 Jurgen Degabriele 10/10/1996 Hibernians FC
18 Aidan Friggieri 28/04/1998 St Andrews FC
19 Joseph Mbong 15/07/1997 Hibernians FC
20 Kyran Nwoko 04/07/1997 Valletta FC


Name Surname Role
Alex Manfre’ Head of Delegation &

Vice President


Technical Staff

Name Surname Role
Jesmond Abela Team Manager
Silvio Vella Head Coach
Noel Turner Assistant Coach
Simon Agius Goalkeepers Coach
Karl Attard Physical Trainer
Daniel McKean Team Doctor
Sandro Vella Physiotherapist
Edric Zahra Masseur
Joseph Micallef Kit Manager
Jason Vella Administrator

Article printed from Sport In Malta: http://www.sportinmalta.com

URL to article: http://www.sportinmalta.com/malta-u-21-squad-for-cyprus-hungary-qualifiers-2/

Copyright © 2010 Sport In Malta. All rights reserved.