Malta to host FIBA Div C European Championship next week

Saturday, July 3, 2010, 20:30

Malta will host the FIBA Europe Division C European Championship between the 5th and 10th July. The games will be played at the University Sports complex and Malta will play the first game against San Marino on Monday 5th July at 20:15. The other teams in Group B are Scotland and Denmark whereas Andorra, Moldova, Wales and Gibraltar form Group A.

Less than three years ago, Denmark were competing for the last spot at Eurobasket 2007 and they will surely be the toughest team to meet. The final call up has been now made by National coach Bruno Di Pietrantonio who will be assisted by Emmanuele Sgarlata and Peter Farrugia as assistant coaches and Silvio Cassar as team manager. The 12 players are: Michael Naudi, Roderick Vella, Jean Paul Bonnici, David Bugeja, Steve Schembri, Dirk Schembri, Peter Shoults, Joshua Jackson, Adison Bonnici, Kristin Baldacchino, Nigel Sultana and Samuel Deguara.

Following Monday’s game Malta will then face Denmark on Tuesday at 18:00 and Scotland on Wednesday at the same time to complete the first round games. The Maltese public is encouraged to come and support the Maltese National Team for these games.

All the Malta games will be screened on a delayed basis on Melita Sports.


  1. meinrad says:

    hemm bzonn bidlafl-amministrazzjoni tal-MBA…..tafu lil-Clubs giet imposta fuqhom mizata ghar-registration tal-players ?


  2. alan says:

    Come on Samuel.. show your skills to our nation.. We are proud of you
    Good luck Malta….


Leave a comment