Malta Select XI extend lead over Combined XI

Tuesday, November 30, 2010, 13:10

On Saturday the second game between the Malta Select XI and the Combined XI took place. The Combined team were looking to even up the score after they lost the first encounter.

Winning the toss the Combined XI captain, Tony Slater elected to bat first. Andy Lenard and Phil Gibbs opened the batting. They did not achieve the start they wanted both being out in the first over of the day. Jim Heasman came to the crease which he occupied for a long while putting some respect to the scoreboard while others (Will Nichols, six runs, Chris Naudi no runs, Andy Naudi three runs) all fell and did not keep him company. He finally was caught and had made twenty seven runs, he left at the crease Bikram Arora. Arora again had a very slow start and once getting his eye in started to hit sixes. He hit two and was also caught after making thirty runs from twenty eight balls. Unfortunately for the Combined team the tail did not wag and were bowled out in the thirty fifth over. They totalled a mere 101 runs. For the Select team Ronnie Sacco and Sarfraz Ali were the main wicket takers with two wickets each. Five other bowlers took a wicket each. Kevin Krishna had a great day in the field taking three catches. Tony Azzopardi ran out Jai Kumar with a direct hit from almost the boundary.

John Grima and Joy Ghoseroy opened the batting for the Select team and put on forty six runs before Ghoseroy was caught. He had made eleven runs. Grima went on to top score with thirty runs including four fours. Nowell Khosla made twenty runs not out as his team easily made the required runs in twenty overs. The combined bowling was very stray and gave away twenty two wides which did not help their cause. Jai Kumar was the pick of the bowlers taking two wickets. The Malta Select team now are leading the series two to nil.

Next Saturday the Winter League continues with the start of the second round. Krishna C.C take on Melita Betfair C.C.
The cricket nursery/academy will be from 9:00 till 10:30am.

Leave a comment