Malta Drawn With Russia, Ukraine and Estonia

Thursday, December 6, 2012, 9:22

UEFA Euro 2013-14 U-19 Championship Draws


The draws for the 2013/14 UEFA European Under-19 Championship qualifying round were announced on Wednesday 5th December in Nyon, Switzerland, with 52 of the 54 entrants in the different pots. Malta were drawn in Group 13 with Russia, Ukraine and Estonia.


The draw was made by UEFA Youth and Amateur Committee chairman Jim Boyce and the captain of last season’s England squad, Tom Thorpe, who received the Fair Play prize on his side’s behalf. There were 13 qualifying round groups each containing two teams from each of the seeding pots, the host nations were chosen later.


As for progress in the competition, the top two teams in every group, along with the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair, will follow top seeds Spain into the elite round to be played in Spring 2014. Seven teams will emerge from this round to join Hungary in the finals in summer of that year. The final will also act as the qualifying competition for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand.


Commenting on the draws Jesmond Abela said that Malta was pitted in a tough group and after some long-drawn negotiations to determine which country will host the group matches  it was decided that Russia will be the hosts in October, after both Ukraine and Estonia had shown an interest in organising the mini-tournament.


Malta was not involved in the Under 17 draws as it will be participating in one of the groups of the final round in the Euro 2014 U-17 Final Championship as host.


The following is the qualifying round draw of the U-19 Championship:

Group 1: Croatia, Czech Republic, Gibraltar*, Cyprus

Group 2: Romania, Poland, Armenia, Lithuania

Group 3: Republic of Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Sweden

Group 4: Belgium, France, Northern Ireland, Iceland

Group 5: Germany, Scotland, Belarus, Latvia

Group 6: Greece, Slovakia, Albania, Bulgaria

Group 7: Serbia, Austria, Kazakhstan, Finland

Group 8: Portugal, Norway, Luxembourg, San Marino

Group 9: Switzerland, England, Andorra, Slovenia

Group 10: Italy, Denmark, Israel, Liechtenstein

Group 11: Netherlands, Georgia, Moldova, Wales

Group 12: Turkey, Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Faroe Islands

Group 13: Russia, Ukraine, Malta, Estonia


*The UEFA Executive Committee admitted Gibraltar as a provisional member of UEFA on 1 October 2012. This follows a ruling by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in August 2011. A decision on the admission of the Gibraltar Football Association (GFA) as a full member of UEFA will be taken by the XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress in London in May 2013. As per a UEFA Executive Committee decision, Spain and Gibraltar cannot be drawn into the same group.

Leave a comment