Malta drawn with Euro big hitters

Sunday, July 31, 2011, 10:11

by Joshua Cacciattolo

Malta were paired with giants Italy in the World Cup 2014 European zone qualifying draw in Rio on Saturday night.

Malta were also placed in Group B against Czech Republic, Denmark, Bulgaria and Armenia.

The winners of the nine groups qualify automatically and the eight best runners-up play off for the four places remaining.

On a top foreign website, Italy mentor Cesare Prandelli said the Azzurri must win the group at all cost and he sees no one who can challenge the former World Champions at Group B

World Cup 2014 European zone qualifying draw:

Group A: Croatia, Serbia, Belgium, Scotland, Macedonia, Wales

Group B: Italy, Denmark, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Armenia, Malta.

Group C: Germany, Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Faroe Islands, Kazakhstan.

Group D: Holland, Turkey, Hungary, Romania, Estonia, Andorra.

Group E: Norway, Slovenia, Switzerland, Albania, Cyprus, Iceland.

Group F: Portugal, Russia, Israel, Northern Ireland, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg.

Group G: Greece, Slovakia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lithuania, Latvia, Liechtenstein.

Group H: England, Montenegro, Ukraine, Poland, Moldova, San Marino.

Group I: Spain, France, Belarus, Georgia, Finland.

Leave a comment