Malta Bowling Open 25: Lithuanian First-Timer Wins Milestone Event

Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 23:01

Gavin Muscat

June saw the 25th Anniversary edition of the Malta Open Championships at the SuperBowl, where around 100 top bowlers, from 14 different countries competed for not only the prestigious title of Malta Open Champion, but also a share of the €10,500 cash prize fund that was up for grabs.

The level of competition was as high as ever with a good number of contenders vying for the top spots, and Malta was very well represented with no fewer than 32 locals taking part. Malta’s best performance came from the current men’s National Champion, Justin Caruana Scicluna who made it to the Top Eight stage and finished in sixth place, followed by his Mum, Sue Abela in seventh. Malta’s youth bowlers were also keen to participate in the prestigious international event, held on their home centre, with the top three youngsters, namely Matthew Magro, Shaun Montanaro and Sara Xuereb being rewarded with brand new bowling balls by SuperBowl GM, Neil Dent, thanks to the support of equipment manufacturers, Bowltech UK.

A memorable highlight of the Qualifying Round was an incredible sporting feat, never before achieved at the Eden SuperBowl – a stunning pair of back-to-back ‘Perfect’ games by Norwegian, Bjorn Rudshagen, much to the delight of the spectators present, and other competitors who took a time-out from their games to witness Bjorn’s stunning brace of 300s.

The eventual Malta Open Champion was Aidas Daniunas from Lithuania, who was participating in the Malta Open for the very first time, although definitely not his last. Aidas qualified in tenth place, and then progressed through Sunday’s final stages to eventually face Dutchman Mark Jacobs, another Malta Open newbie in the grand final. The match was played over two games for total pinfall, And Daniunas outplayed Jacobs in both, to claim the title and top prize 488 – 431.

Malta Open 25 was sponsored by the Eden Leisure Group and also Casino Malta, which was also the venue for a lively tournament ‘Wrap Party’, once the presentation ceremony was over.

Aidas Daniunas

Bjorn Rudshagen

Leave a comment