- Sport In Malta - http://www.sportinmalta.com -

Last ASMK Honda Motocross Race

Posted By Sportinmalta On June 13, 2018 @ 8:03 am In Featured,Motorsport | No Comments

On Saturday 16th June 2018, Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi is going to organize the ninth and final event of the Honda Motocross National Championship 2017/2018. The event starts at 4. 00pm and finishes at about sunset at the ASMK Sports Complex in Ta’ Qali.

For the first time ever, young Kyle Camilleri on his KTM already won this Champion title, as he has enough points and cannot be beaten in the next Final race. Kyle won six races from eight and has already currently won a total of 368 points. Kyle is followed by his brother Clayton Camilleri also on a KTM with 272 points. Third place there’s Mark Mamo with 242 points riding a Yamaha motorcycle.

In Class B Bernard Sammut on Beta is leading the chart with 277 points and followed by young Michael Sant who won 229 points on his Husqvarna motorcycle. James Zahra with his Sherco is in the third place and won 200 points.

In the Class for Veterans (Over 40 Class) Paul Deguara on a KTM motorcycle sealed his championship title in this class with 378 points. Jethro Sant with 291 points on a Yamaha follows Deguara in the 2nd place. Andrew Cassar on a KTM placed third with 224 points.

Meanwhile on Saturday 9th June, ASMK organized the first Autocross night event of this season, where 16 cars participated in the tenth event of the ASMK Pasta Poiatti National Championship 2017/2018. The 16 competitors were divided into two classes, one for the Modified cars and the other for the Standard cars.

Andrew Pisani on a Vauxhall Nova dominated and won Class A for his 2nd time. Pisani is followed by Vince Farrugia on a Volkswagen Polo. Both Pisani and Farrugia were followed by Karl Micallef on a Ford Fiesta and Noel Zammit on Fiat Punto. Terence Azzopardi on an Opel Corsa and Jean Paul Grech on Peugeot 106, placed 5th and 6th respectively.

In Modified Class B Ryan Scicluna on a Ford Fiesta won this class while Melo Zammit followed on his Opel Corsa. Scicluna and Zammit were followed by Jonathan Camilleri on his Opel Corsa and Keith Borg on the Vauxhall Nova. Camilleri and Borg placed third and fourth places respectively. Jonathan Vella on a Ford Fiesta and Brandon Lee Vassallo on Peugeot 205 entered fifth and sixth respectively.

In Standard Class, Nicovich Chircop on his Peugeot 106 won this class followed by Guzi Pace on a Ford Fiesta and Deane Farrugia on Citroen AX. Robert Giordimaina on an Opel Corsa was suspended and Black Flagged from the race after an unsporting action on Farrugia. The ASMK Administration would like to notify that this unsporting action will be raised before the Executive Committee to access what happened between Farrugia and Giordimaina during and following this Race Final.

Another Autocross night event is scheduled on Saturday 23rd June 2018 and starts at 7. 00pm. More information can be found on www.asmk.org.mt or Facebook page named Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can also make contact by email:- info@asmk.org.mt and Mobile No.  99425489.

Photos by Mario Micallef

Article printed from Sport In Malta: http://www.sportinmalta.com

URL to article: http://www.sportinmalta.com/last-asmk-honda-motocross-race/

Copyright © 2010 Sport In Malta. All rights reserved.