Knights win 2010 Championship

Friday, December 17, 2010, 18:09
Knights wheelchair Rugby League team 2010 Champions

Knights wheelchair Rugby League team 2010 Champions

The Knights have claimed the 2010 Wheelchair Rugby League Championship at St Martin’s College despite a sterling Kavallieri RFC effort in the final round.

In need of only a second placing in the third round of the Wheelchair Rugby League Challenge, the Knights went down two tries to one against Kavallieri RFC in the final. John Gauci led his Inspire team well and Joss Howland was Mr Ever Present in the Overseas lineup but it was Pierre Mangion and Graham Attard that spearheaded Kavallieri RFC to their maiden round victory.

Earlier, a trio of tries to the Knights’ Mauro Miceli, Anthony Micallef and Dario Schembri relegated Overseas RUFC to slip out of finals contention. Graham Attard, following a wheelchair collision against the Knights in the earlier fixture, returned with his fingers bandaged to help Kavallieri RFC to victory in the final.

Inspire took third place for the third round after Overseas RUFC graciously awarded a walkover and claimed fourth.

The competition organisers, Inspire and the MRL are fielding expressions of interest to expand next year’s competition to four rounds and an increased number of teams.

Leave a comment