Johnnie Walker Cup

Thursday, November 7, 2013, 11:32
Johnnie Walker Cup

Johnnie Walker Cup

Next Sunday, the Johnnie Walker Cup for thoroughbred horses will be raced at the Marsa Race Track over the long distance of 2250m. Because of this a press conference was held today at the Malta Racing Club Tote that was addressed by the Chairman of the Malta Racing Club Dr Matthew Brincat as well as the Marketing Manager of M.Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd Mr Alfred Braddick. Also present were the owners and jockeys of horses taking part in this edition.



The Johnnie Walker Cup is a prestigious trophy dating back to 1939 and although for a good number of years it remained only in the showcases of the Malta Racing Club, these last years it was being used during the Mediterranean Championship for flat racing jockeys which Malta used to host on the 31st March.



In fact, the Johnnie Walker Cup was presented during the years 2009, 2010 and 2011 but there was no race last year.  This year’s race should see five participants and the prize money will be €600 for the winner, with €300 and €150 being given to the 2nd and 3rd placed respectively.



Amongst the participants, one finds the winner of the last edition of the Johnnie Walker Cup, Ollie Fliptrik as well as the current Mediterranean Derby Winner Kimberley Downs.



The sponsor of this race, M. Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd will also be giving a bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue to the winner, with the second placed owner receiving a bottle of Platinum Johnnie Walker and the third placed a bottle of Johnnie Walker Gold. Trophies will also be given to the owners of the first three horses and a commemorative blanket will be given to the winner.



The race will be the 9th one on the programme starting at 16:25.


The participating horses and their jockeys are the following:


Kimberley Downs (Michael Sultana)

Timolin (Charles Pace)

Alto Monte (Demis Zammit)

Ollie Fliptrik (Sarah Borg)

Friarscourt (Matthew Mallia)




The winners of the last three editions:


31/03/09 – Priviliged Boy (Magomet A. Kappuslev)

31/03/10 – Lordswood (Christoforos Christoforou)

31/03/11 – Ollie Fliptrik (Alexandre Pillet



Leave a comment