Gozo Classic – Bonello roars to victory

Wednesday, March 30, 2011, 6:59

Team Greens’ Etienne Bonello remains unbeaten after a brilliant show of force last Sunday. This year’s Gozo Classic race was organized by Greens Cycling Club in Nadur, The race which will also feature in the upcoming Tour ta Malta in a few weeks time was highly contested with all the local clubs fielding their best athletes . Action started immediately after a few kilometers with Melita Pedal Power clearly showing their determination to take over the race.

Patrick Scicluna managed an early breakaway together with Qormi Paul Zarb and Team Greens Peter Gatt. Gozitan hopeful Dominic Cutajar of Mosta AFSign Studio also had a couple of shots at the race. The race became interesting when Gatt and Zarb lost ground of Scicluna who powered his way in front increasing his gap. Back in the main group Team Greens and Qormi immediately started chasing down the leader.

A determined Melita attacked the chasing group with Maurice Formosa and Clive Ebejer who managed to open a gap. With three Melita riders on the loose the chasing from Team Greens and Qormi intensified with David Galea, Etienne Bonello and Fabio Spiteri doing most of the hard work to timely reel in all the leading riders just a few kilometers from the finish. The race was destined to a final sprint when Chris Gatt of Greens tried a final move in the end which however was immediately neutralized by Galea. Into the final Sprint it was an impressive Bonello who after chasing much of the race roared to the line with his hands in the air. Maurice Formosa was second with Christian Formosa in third and David Galea a very tight fourth to Formosa.

The race was made possible with the assistance of the Nadur Local Council, KMS co-ordinator Mr Joe Bajjada who also presented the trophies to the winners, The Gozo Police force for their invaluable role to perfectly providing a traffic-free safe race circuit, club officials, helpers and time keepers. The event was sponsored by Greens Supermarket and BBB Bike Parts

Results of the other categories:


Joe Bonello (Greens)

Michael Lia (Mosta)

Mark Schembri (Mosta)


Nicky Farrugia (Greens) – tie first

Emanuel Bezzina (Mosta) – tie first

Twanny Pisani – third


Emanuel Camilleri (Mosta)


Terrance Lauri (Greens)


Marica Micallef (Melita)

Claudia Zammit (Mosta)

U15 Boys

Carl Xuereb (Mosta)

Nicholas Xuereb (Mosta)

Kurt Muscat (Mosta)

U15 Girls

Martina Sciberras (Mosta)

Nina Zammit (Mosta)

Michaela Galea (Qormi)

U12 Girls

Maria Grech (Mosta)

Celine Fenech (Mosta)

U12 Boys

Isaac Spiteri (Melita)

Michele Lucia (Mosta)

Segion Sciberras (Mosta)

1 Comment

  1. Oswald says:

    WELL DONE to all the participating Cyclists. It is very evident there is a very strong element of hard training and dedication to improve performance. Keep up the good work, and look forward for the Tour ta Malta.
    And by the way CONGRATULATIONS to Etienne Bonello who in the photo looks to be screaming loud to achieve his aim.


Leave a comment