Gergely steers Blues to Super Cup glory

Wednesday, June 27, 2012, 13:26

by Gerald Fenech

Istvan Gergely, number 1 in the Super Cup  final

Istvan Gergely, number 1 in the Super Cup final

Super Cup Premier – President’s Cup

Neptunes Emirates 4  - Sliema McDonalds 6
(1-2, 1-2, 1-0, 1-2)

Just three days after having the better of Sliema, in a bonus points match, Neptunes had to bow to superior opponents in a Cup Game, as the Blues won the President’s Cup for the sixth time.

The champions had a veritable wall in front of them in the Sliema goal, as Istvan Gergely covered himself with glory, aided by a stifling Sliema defence. The Neptunes players ended up afraid to take a pot at goal, as a confident Sliema side absorbed pressure, then struck back in a low scoring match, the lowest yet this season.

Action in front of the Neptunes goal

The champions were always chasing their adversaries, and never made up the leeway. When John Soler cutely lobbed his side into a three goal advantage it was all over, and Neptunes, who were in low tones throughout the game, had to concede defeat.

After the match the Assistant Treasurer of the Malta Community Chest Fund, Ian Azzopardi, along with the ASA President, Joe Caruana Curran, presented the President’s Cup to the Sliema captain, John Soler.

Neptunes: I. Bugeja, N. Lanzon 2, E. Aquilina , M. Stellini , G. Pace, A. Ciric 1, S. Camilleri 1, J. Camilleri , B. Lanzon , S. Gravina , R. Sciortino, T. Molnar , C. Mercieca
Sliema: I. Gergely, J. Gabarretta 2, N. Lubrano , P. Privitera , M. Meli 1, J. Soler 1, D. Paolella , J. Brownrigg, C. Debono, F. Salamon 2, M. Rizzo, M. Spiteri Staines, C. Cluett
Referees: M. Dalli, I. Sciriha

Super Cup 1 Division – Sports Journalists Cup

M’scala MOR€ 11 Ta Xbiex Amigos 9
(3-3,3-1, 3-1, 2-4)

M’scala did not have it all their own way in this final, especially after Ta Xbiex opened up brightly with two goals. When M’scala settled down their two foreigners did all the damage, especially Judashz Szolt, who put in seven goals for his side, along with three more from the usual Joseph Kayes.

Ta Xbiex also had their overseas players with hat tricks each, as Yuri Szeles and Botond Szabo tried to infuse more energy into their team. M’scala opened up a good lead till the last session, and although Ta Xbiex bounced back, it was not enough, as they ended a couple of strikes behind their adversaries.

It was the third time that M’scala won this honours as they also kept it from last season. After the match the Sports Journalists Executive member, William Vassallo, along with the ASA President, Joe Caruana Curran, presented the M’scala captain, Joe Cremona, with the winning trophy.

M’scala: K. Schembri, C. Mifsud, M. Pace, B. Muscat, J. Kayes 3, L. Grixti, J. Licari , J. Cremona 1, S. Micallef, R. Scerri , D. Cassar, M. Fenech, J. Szolt 7
Ta Xbiex: L. Borg, J. Cremona, B. Szabo3 , J. Tabone, M. Asciak, S. Cini, C. Bugeja,A. Bugeja, J. Tabone, K. Galea , A. Galea, R. Attard, O. Zammit 1, Y. Szeles 3
Referees: A. DeRaffaele, P. Balzan

Leave a comment