Five players dropped as National Team leaves for Tel Aviv

Sunday, August 29, 2010, 20:40

by Sandro Micallef

Two Birkirkara players are amongst the five players who have been dropped from the 23 man squad selected by John Buttigieg ahead of the EURO 2012 qualifier game against Israel scheduled for Thursday 2nd September.

Joseph Zerafa, Trevor Ciliia both of Birkirkara, Kevin Sammut of Valletta, Ivan Woods of Sliema and Tarxien keeper Anthony Curmi are the five players who will not travel with the Malta contingent that leaves for Tel Aviv on Monday at 2.45pm.

Buttigieg and his assistant Carmel Busuttil are to hold their first training session in the Middle Eastern Republic on Tuesday with two sessions scheduled at 10.30am and at 7.00pm respectively. Another session is scheduled for Wednesday at 8pm at the Ramat Gan Stadium the same stadium in which the game will be played then on Thursday at 8.15pm Malta time.

The 18 man squad is the following:


Andrew Hogg  - Valletta FC,Mario Muscat  - Hibernians FC


Edward Herrera  - Hibernians FC, Carlo Mamo  - Marsaxlokk FC, Clayton Failla  - Sliema Wanderers FC, Massimo Grima  - Hamrun Spartans FC, Jonathan Caruana  - Valletta FC, Manny Muscat  - Wellington Phoenix FC, Andrei Agius – AS Melfi.

Midfielders: Jamie Pace  - Valletta FC, Shaun Bajada – Birkirkara FC, Paul Fenech  - Birkirkara FC, Gareth Sciberras  - Marsaxlokk FC, Roderick Briffa  - Valletta FC, Ryan Fenech  - Hamrun Spartans FC

Attackers: Andrew Cohen  - Hibernians FC, Micheal Mifsud  - unattached, Daniel Bogdanovic  - Sheffield United FC

Mark Piscopo ex-Floriana FC official and Kit Manager will make his international debut as the new Kit Manager of the Malta National senior team taking over from Alan Desira.

1 Comment

  1. mark fenech says:

    good uick to all the boys….. hope we manage a good reult – mark


Leave a comment