Finalists announced for the GO Malta Football Awards – 10th edition

Sunday, May 15, 2011, 19:00

The Organising Committee of the 10th Edition of The GO Malta Football Awards is announcing the finalists of this year’s edition, which is going to take centre stage on Wednesday 25th May at the MFCC in Ta’ Qali.

The Award for The Best Goal of the Season and the Award for the Best Save of the Season are completely in the hands of the general public via a TELEVOTING number associated with each goal and save. There is no restriction to the number of calls and calls can be made from any local mobile phone or landline local network. Each call costs €1.

The GO Malta Football Awards is going to be broadcast live on the National Station TVM and it’s going to be hosted by three local sports journalists – Simon Farrugia, Catherine Micallef and Rodney Vassallo. Later on during the week, one can even watch a repeat of this event on GO Sports Channel.

Sandro Micallef, Chairman of the Organising Commitee commented that he is very satisfied with the response of those entitled to vote as the majority of the votes awere received on time so that the three finalists out of each category could be determined.

For the traditional BOV Premier League Awards, the 10 Premier League Presidents, the 10 Coaches and the 10 Captains of each team were entitled to vote together with approximately 60 sports journalists, sports tv producers, football commentators and football photo reporters.

Also, Presidents, Coaches and Captains in the categories of the First, Second, Third Division, GFA 1st Division, Women’s League and Futsal had the right to vote together with the few journalists who follow these leagues.

As announced in the Press Conference earlier last month, the category for the Best Referee Award was voted for by only journalists as per agreement the Malta Football Association.

From left Sandro Micallef (Chairman Malta Football Awards), Simon Farrugia (co-presenter), Catherine Micallef (co-presneter and producer), Rodney Vassallo (co-presenter) and Alan Cutajar Director Events Services

From left Sandro Micallef (Chairman Malta Football Awards), Simon Farrugia (co-presenter), Catherine Micallef (co-presneter and producer), Rodney Vassallo (co-presenter) and Alan Cutajar Director Events Services

This year, football enthusiasts and the general public has the chance to be present for the event by buying tickets via the internet site Each ticket costs €15 and the ticket gives access to the holder for the after party organised at the MFCC.

For more details about this year’s edition one can visit or The Malta Football Awards facebook page.







Best Third Division Player

  • Lee Baldacchino          Luqa FC
  • Jason Camilleri            Siġġiewi FC
  • Juan Galdes                  Marsascala FC

Best Second Division Player

  •  Adrian Carabott                    Żejtun C.
  • Adam Smeir                            Rabat A.
  • Timmy Thomas                      Żebbuġ R.

Best First Division Player

  •   Pedro Calcado                       Balzan Y.
  •   Gilbert Martin                       Mosta FC
  •  Jean Paul Muscat                   Mqabba FC

Best Female Player (1st Division)

  •  Ylenia Carabott             Hibernians  FC
  •  Antoinette Sammut     Mġarr FC
  • Dorianne Theuma          Mosta FC

Best GFA Player (1st Division)

  •   Chris Cammileri        Sannat Lions
  •   John Camilleri           Sannat Lions
  • Adrian Parnis               Sannat Lions

Best Futsal Player (1st Division)

  •   Anton Florin              ZC Excess                   
  • Jovica Milijic               Paola Downtown        
  • Carlos Scicluna            ZC Excess       

Most Promising Youngster

  • Leighton Grech            Vittoriosa S.
  • Rowen Muscat              Birkirkara FC
  • Bjorn Kristensen          Hibernians FC

Best Goalkeeper

  • Omar Borg                  Ħamrun S.
  • David Cassar              Tarxien R.
  • Andrew Hogg            Valletta FC

Best Defender

  • Steve Borg                             Valletta FC
  • Jonathan Caruana               Valletta FC
  • Jason Lee Vandelannoite  Qormi FC

Best Midfielder

  • Roderick Briffa    Valletta FC
  • Paul Fenech         Birkirkara FC
  • Ryan Fenech       Valletta FC

Best Save of the Season

  • 5230 2031: Simon Agius – Vittoriosa S. Vs Birkirkara FC
  • 5230 2032: Omar Borg – Ħamrun S. vs Vittoriosa S.
  • 5230 2033: David Cassar – Tarxien R. vs Floriana FC
  • 5230 2034: Matthew Farrugia – Qormi FC vs Marsaxlokk
  • 5230 2035: Andrew Hogg – Valletta vs Floriana
  • 5230 2036: Lotfi Saidi – Floriana FC vs Sliema

Best Coach

  • Noel Coleiro               Tarxien R.
  • Paul Zammit               Birkirkara FC
  • Jesmond Zerafa         Valletta FC

Best Striker

  • Alfred Effiong      Marsaxlokk FC
  • Daniel Nwoke      Floriana FC
  • Terrence Scerri  Valletta FC

Best Veteran Player

  • Gilbert Agius       Valletta FC
  • David Camilleri   Ħamrun S.
  • Brian Said              Floriana FC

Best Referee

  • Christopher Lautier
  • Clayton Pisani
  •  Alan Mario Sant

Best Goal of the Season

  • 5230 2021: Edmund Agius – Valletta FC vs Ħamrun S.
  • 5230 2022: Dyson Falzon – Ħamrun S. vs Valletta FC
  • 5230 2023: Ryan Fenech – Valletta FC vs Sliema W.
  • 5230 2024: Cleavon Frendo – Qormi FC vs Hibernians FC
  • 5230 2025: Michael Galea – Birkirkara FC vs Sliema W. (U*Bet FA Trophy Q/F)
  • 5230 2026: Sergio Pacheco de Oliveira – Tarxien R. vs Floriana

Best Foreign Player

  • Denni Rocha Dos Santos         Valletta FC
  • Daniel Nwoke                              Floriana FC
  • Sergio Pacheco de Oliveira    Tarxien R.

Best Maltese Player

  • Gilbert Agius      Valletta FC
  • Roderick Briffa   Valletta FC
  • Ryan Fenech       Valletta FC 



  1. marks says:

    il-voti tat telephone meta u xhin jghalqu pls?


  2. Jurgen says:



  3. BELT BISS says:

    lol tyrone ax ma jmurx mal kavallieri jew mal falcons u jibda jilghab il marsa mela football


  4. Erik DeBattista says:

    Mhux talli mhux nominat Tyrone Farrugia talli kien kompletament injorat mil gurnalisti is-sena kollha… verament tal misthija toqod tqis limpatt immedjat li ghamel ma club gdid..


  5. Bunker says:

    L-isbah ta l aqwa Referee………possibli dawk l ahjar 3 Referees f’Malta????????


  6. Floriana says:

    Biex ma nsemmix ohrajn bhal Doffo u Christan Cassar !


  7. Floriana says:

    hahaha …..tad-dahq !! Il Furjana gew it-tieni u final tat-trophy mandomx player wiehed fin nomination tnehhi lil nwoke ! Tyrone Farrugia ma kienx aw bhalu dis sena u naqqas ijad innominat… dejjem ittuwom bis sieq il-furjana il gurnalisti kolla !


Leave a comment