FIBA Europe championship for Women

Sunday, July 8, 2012, 2:41

Another FIBA Europe Championship is on the way for the Women National Team – the current champions in this category after the successes in 2008 in Albaniaand 2010 in Armenia. Between the 10th and 15th July the European Championship of the small countries will be held inStruga,Macedonia. The Maltese National Team once again under the guidance of Santino Coppa and Sandro Farrugia will be aiming for the treble in this competition although some different teams will be taking part. In fact hoistsMacedonia will be returning to this competition after 12 years having won the competition in 2000.Azerbaijan are also returning to the competition after their last participation in 2008.Austria, had their last appearance in 1998 when they ended up as winners.

In this championship Maltawill be playing in Group A together with Moldova, Scotlandand Azerbaijan. Austria, Wales, Macedoniaand Gibraltar will be competing in Group B. Malta will start with the first game on Tuesday 10th July against Moldova at 18:45. The rest of the games will be played as follows:

11th July –Malta vsScotland at 16:30

12th July –Malta vsAzerbaijan at 18:45

There will be no games on the 13th July and the semi finals and finals will be played on the 14th and 15th July. The following players have been called by National Coach Santino Coppa and Assistant Coach Sandro Farrugia:

Rebecca Brincat Thoresen, Maria Desira, Ashleigh Vella, Elena Cassar, Kirsten Baldacchino,

Leanne Sciberras, Christina Grima, Steffi De Martino, Josephine Grima, Lindsey Pirotta, Joselle Cardona, Bever-Lee Zammit

Games can be followed in real time on


Leave a comment