Festina watches, The Cyclist to sponsor The Birkirkara St Joseph Triathlon Series 2012

Friday, June 8, 2012, 20:37

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club has teamed up with Festina Watches (J. Agius and Brothers, Valletta) and The Cyclist of San Gwann in organising the twelfth edition of the Club’s annual triathlon series, with the first event to be held on Sunday 10 June on the now traditional Salina – Bahar ic-Caghaq Coast Road.   Club President Mr. Ray Grech said his Club’s organisational prowess and experience has attracted these two leading enterprises as partners in this flourishing sport.  He said that his Club can boast of top triathletes the likes of ten times national champion Dermot Galea, under 25 European champion Keith Galea and other national team triathletes like Rudolph Agius, Steve Chetcuti,  Johanna Calleja and Michelle Vella Wood.  Mr. Grech thanked the respective directors for the confidence they have shown in the Club, and assured them that the participating triathletes will be the sole beneficiaries of the sponsorships.

This annual triathlon series consists of four sprint distance events held under the auspices of the Malta Triathlon Association, during which points may be accumulated valid for the Triathlete of the Year Award.  The three segments of the sprint triathlon are a 750-metre swim, a 20-kilometre cycle and a 5-kilometre run.  This series will be held on the 10 June, 15 July, 2 September and 16 September.  The first two races start at 7:00 a.m. while the other two start at 7:30 a.m.  The Coast Road will be closed for traffic between 6:45 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. during the events, and an ambulance with a team of paramedics will be in attendance.   One hundred and eighteen triathletes took part in last year’s edition of this series, and the organisers are expecting the number of participants to increase this year.  Relay teams of swimmers, cyclists and athletes will again be allowed to take part in this series.  This series caters also for a number of categories including one for participants over the age of sixty years. Last year’s series was won by Keith Galea (Birkirkara St. Joseph) and Danica Bonello Spiteri (St. Patrick’s).  The winners of the series will be those triathletes with the best accumulated finish times in the four events.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club would like to thank also Joseph F. Spiteri & Co Ltd. (Kee Klamp), the Naxxar Local Council, Transport Malta and the Commissioner of Police for their assistance.

The relative series entry forms and regulations may be downloaded from the Club’s website www.bkarastjoseph.com


Leave a comment