Etienne Bonello secures first round of the time trial National Championship

Wednesday, May 9, 2012, 13:31
It was a tight call for Etienne Bonello of Team Greens to secure the first round of the time trial National Championship with only 2 seconds to spare on team mate Christopher Gatt. The 202 Jewellery Time Trial National Championship got underway earlier this month with the first round at the Bahar ic-Caghaq coast road over a distance of  27km. The prevailing wind of the day did not allow for any fast times which prevented Bonello from reproducing the national record time of 35:45 he clocked to third place in the first stage of the tour ta Malta in April.
However the race was far from a routine competition as Christopher Gatt rode to an outstanding performance to stop the clock just two seconds short from Bonello’s winning time of 36:45. The neck to neck battle was evident from the first laps as both riders clocked similar times in the initial laps with Gatt going into the advantage in the third lap. Bonello reeled back Gatt’s advantage in his final lap as he increased the pace to the finish stopping the time 2 seconds before Gatt. Steve Sciberras of Mosta Af Sign Studio finished third in 37:22. The next race will be the First round of the Road Race National Championship which will take place on the San Martin Circuit

Time Trial results


E Bonello (Greens) 36:45

C Gatt (Greens) 36:47

S Sciberras (Mosta) 37:22


D Camilleri (Agones) 46:11

M Vella Wood (BSJ) 46:14

J Calleja (BSJ) 48:09


C Xuereb (Mosta) 43:30

T Lauri (Greens) 52:15


J Bonello (Greens) 37:55

P Gatt (Greens) 38:58

J Zammit (Greens) 40:10


J Mallia (Qormi) 43:34

C Iwanik (BSJ) 47:03

C Zammit (Mosta) 53:06


E Camilleri (Mosta) 45:35

G Abela (Qormi) 49:41

A Borg (Qormi) 52:03

U15 Boys

K Muscat (Mosta) 23:49

A Lucia (Mosta) 24:42

M Farrugia (Mosta) 24:50

U15 Girls

M Sciberras (Mosta) 25:42

M Pizzuto (Mosta) 27:02

N Zammit (Mosta) 29:53

U12 Boys

I Spiteri (Melita) 10:00

M Sant (Mosta) 11:08

J Galea (Mosta) 11:31

U12 Girls

M Grech (Mosta) 12:21

C Fenech (Mosta) 13:05

E Spiteri Bailey (Mosta) 13:59

Para Cycling

Noel Aquilina (Agones) 51:53

Leave a comment