Edward Caruana Dingli and Davina Mangion win respective categories in Open Water Swimming Championships

Tuesday, August 7, 2012, 9:00

The longest race in the Power Bar Open Water Swimming Championships held on a distance of 4 kilometres, which is also a prologue to the annual Malta-Gozo-Malta and Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competitions, was contested by an impressive 85 swimmers.  Current championship leader Edward Caruana Dingli and last year’s winner Davina Mangion won their respective categories with a strong performance around the four one-kilometre laps.


Caruana Dingli finished the race in 58 minutes 30 seconds, in front of young Jordan Calleja (59 minutes, 15 seconds) and Simon Zammit (59 minutes, 41 seconds).  Thus the top three swimmers managed to cover the distance in under one hour.


In the females’ race reigning open water swimming champion Davina Mangion also managed to go under the one hour mark with a time of 59 minutes, 21 seconds. The ever improving Hannah Pace finished second in one hour, five minutes, 10 seconds, ahead of veteran swimmer Marian Belsten who finished in one hour, seven minutes 12 seconds.


The final race of these championships will be held on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 at 6:00 p.m.   However, before that date, local and foreign open water swimmers will be taking on the 11-kilometre Malta-Gozo-Malta and the 5.5-kilometre Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competitions, scheduled for Saturday, 18 August 2012.  Ranked amongst the top 100 open water swims in the world, this year these events are expected to attract another large number of swimmers.


These open water swimming events are organised by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta, and sponsored by Power Bar

Leave a comment