Draw sends Bkara – Floriana to Albania and Cyprus respectively… Greens to face Priso

Monday, June 20, 2011, 15:32

by Sandro Micallef

Patrick Curmi’s side Birkirkara FC will be travelling to Albania to play in the first qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League for the 2011/12 season against Vllaznia. The stripes were drawn in match number 23 during the draw which was held at Nyon in Switzerland.

Birkirkara will be playing against Vllaznia on June 30th with the return leg scheduled for July 7th 2011. Should they progress then they will play in the second qualifying round of this competition against Thun from Switzerland.

Floriana were handed a direct draw in the second qualifying round will travel to the sunny island of Cyprus to play against AEK Larnaca. Floriana will play the first leg home on July 14th and away on the 21st July 2011.

The Greens will be playing therefore against the team that has Luke Dimech and Njongo Priso on their books. Priso has recently made his stay in Cyprus a permanent one after signing a transfer from his former team Valletta FC.

Birkirkara’s opponents – Vllaznia

Vllaznia Shkodër (Vllaznia) is an Albanian football club based in Shkodër. KF Vllaznia have been Albanian champions nine times and won the National Cup six times, the last success coming at the end of the 2007-08 season, after a long 21 year drought in the competition. Vllaznia play at the Loro-Boriçi Stadium.

In the 2000s Vllaznia went through changes, in 2003 the President of Vllaznia, Myftar Cela was shot in Montenegro. The President was loved from every Vllaznia fan, because of his generosity and he loved the team. After Cela died, a group of businessmen gathered to help the team.

In 2006 an Albanian businessman became Vllaznia President, Valter Fushaj. Since then he has been criticized by the fans for corruption and not wanting the best for the team.

In the 2009-2010 Vllaznia went to some rough changes, having to change 3 coaches, getting new and replacing players Vllaznia went to the bottom of the table, and having been criticized by the fans, Vllaznia went through some bad positions.

On 17 April, 2010 Vllaznia won 3-2 to Skenderbeu Korçe but lost 2-0 because the player Ansi Nika wasn’t on the team roster but got into the game anyway, which led to protests by the fans, saying that the Vllaznia staff, the President Valter Fushaj specifically did it for bribing reasons.

European record:

Season Competition Round Country Club Home Away
1978/79 UEFA European Cup 1R Austria Wien 2-0 1-4
1987/88 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup 1R Sliema Wanderers 2-0 4-0
    2R RoPS 0-1 0-1
1991/92 UEFA Cup 1R AEK Athens 0-1 0-2
1998/99 UEFA Champions League QR FC Dinamo Tbilisi 3-1 0-3
1999/00 UEFA Cup QR Spartak Trnava 1-1 0-2
2000 UEFA Intertoto Cup 1R Nea Salamis 1-2 1-4
2001/02 UEFA Champions League 1QR KR Reykjavik 1-0 1-2
    2QR Galatasaray 1-4 0-2
2003/04 UEFA Cup QR Dundee FC 0-2 0-4
2004 UEFA Intertoto Cup 1R Hapoel Beer Sheva 1-2 3-0
    2R NK Slaven Belupo 1-0 0-2
2007 UEFA Intertoto Cup 1R NK Zagreb 1-0 1-2
    2R Trabzonspor 0-4 0-6
2008/09 UEFA Cup 1QR FC Koper 0-0 2-1
    2QR S.S.C. Napoli 0-3 0-5
2009/10 UEFA Europa League 1QR Sligo Rovers 1-1 2-1
    2QR Rapid Wien 0-3 0-5
2011/12 UEFA Europa League 1QR Birkirkara F.C.    


Floriana’s opponents – AEK Larnaca

The club was formed in 1994 after a merger of two Larnaca clubs: EPA Larnaca and Pezoporikos. AEK Larnaca won their first Cypriot Cup in 2004 beating AEL Limassol 2-1. They reached two more times the Cup final, but both times were beaten by APOEL FC; in 1996, 2-0 in extra time and in 2006, 3-2. It is their only title as AEK until now. The two clubs that led to the merger, EPA Larnaca FC and Pezoporikos Larnaca, also enjoyed separate success on their own, with the first winning three championship titles, five cups and one Super Cup, while Pezoporikos won two leagues and one cup. 

European Record:

Cup Winners’ Cup:

Season Round Country Club Home Away Aggregate
1996-97 Q Kotaik Abovyan 5-0 0-1 5-1
1 Barcelona 0-0 0-2 0-2


Season Round Country Club Home Away Aggregate
2004-05 Q2 Maccabi Petah Tikva 3-0 0-4 3-4

Leave a comment